Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Great recipe! After reading the reviews, I doubled the sauce (except for the brown sugar, which I only increased slightly), but the doubling was unnecessary. Maybe if I had served this with a lot of rice I would have wanted a lot of sauce. I didn't serve with rice at all, but I did increase the vegetables a lot, including adding cabbage, onion, and snap peas. I also used ground turkey and chicken instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
It was OK but the cornstarch clumped up in the sauce and I feel the sauce could have been a bit sweeter. Next time I'll add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe, kinda different. I only made half of the meatballs, but the full amount of sauce, turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Good start, but meatballs need more flavor and the sauce needs way more vinegar if it is to be sweet and SOUR. Next time I'll try garlic and other spicespices too- it just needs something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Very yummy! The sauce is perfect. For the meatballs I used half pork, half beef. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Beaumont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I made this recipe tonight. My rice is still cooking should have put in on when I started the meat balls. I used 2 cups of mini carrots sliced into about 1" slices and allowed them and the bell pepper chances to simmer in 1 cup of water for about 5 minutes before adding the sauce which I had mixed all together in a separate bowl. Next time I am going to add about a cup of celery sliced into 1" diagonal and a small can of water chestnuts. They taste now but I think that will add something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I didn't have onion or Worcestershire sauce available so I used soy sauce in place. Even with those changes it was VERY good. Definitely making this one again ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
We did not like these meatballs at all. However, the sauce was outstanding. I had made a double batch of sauce and saved the left overs. We will add cooked shrimp to the sauce for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is a fabulous recipe. I used 1 lb of sirloin chopped beef. I also used a red onion for the meatballs. Omitted the carrots as I thought to much sweetness. I also cooked the meatballs in the sauce an additional 20 minutes. I followed the sauce recipe to the "T" and found that there was plenty of sauce for 1 lb of meat. I also used a red pepper instead of green as I am not a fan of green peppers. Following the way I made this recipe is plenty to feed a family of four. Also served this over organic basmati can rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This was really good! I doubled the sauce ingredients and served over steamed rice. SO good. Adding to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States