Lamb Stew with Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This stew is absolutely delicious! Great flavors, wonderful spices. Did not change anything except used 2 cans of green beans, since I did not have fresh on hand. This is a good recipe if you are following a low-carb eating plan, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I used to make this a lot and had forgotten about it. Very good flavor and so easy! If you have mint growing in your garden in the summer this would be a good reason to dry some for the winter! My family loved this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This is a wonderful way to cook lamb. We love to make it in the winter - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This was delicious!!!!!!! My aunt used to make this when I was younger. I forgot all about it and am so glad that I found it again. The sauce doen't need to be thick so I didn't add anything to this recipe. I do agree that this is just as good if not better the next day. I can't wait to make this with fresh green beans from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I am going to add a clove or two of garlic to the onion and celery and before adding the meat. The green beans should be cut or snapped into bite size hunks. Overall, very tasty! My family also enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I love lamb and am always looking for new recipes. This one is so easy and is really delicious. I couldn't find dried mint, so I used Greek seasoning which has dried mint in it. Try it! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I used Greek seasoning as suggested by another reviewer, garlic flakes, more cinnamon, and I pureed a can of Italian style stewed tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce. And I served it over white rice. The dish was amazingly good. My husband absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Absolutely the best lamb stew I've ever made! I omitted the celery and parsley as we don't like them, and I used fresh herbs instead of dried. I was skeptical about adding the cinnamon but I'm glad I did - it gave the stew a distinctly Middle Eastern aroma and flavor, which I love. It was a little bit watery when I added my fresh green beans but that was no biggie - I just left off the lid for the last 20 mins of cook time. Perfect! Fantastic recipe, Kathy! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Delicious with cubed top butt of lamb, shallot, green onion, sauteed swiss chard and Italian-seasoned diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States