Lamb Stew with Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I have been cooking for my fiance for the 3 years we've been together pretty regularly. She said this was the best thing I've ever made her, and top 5 meals she's ever had. The broth/sauce was incredible. Perfectly seasoned, tender, subtle and delicious. I made a couple additions I highly recommend. Like others suggested, I sauteed garlic with the celery and onion, and I added carrots. I used leg of lamb - so much better. I left the fat on the pieces and cooked the stew with the bones in the pot for extra flavor. Try it, it's incredible. Will definitely make this often again! I also made it with the Syrian Bread recipe on this site. In my opinion, the bread makes a perfect combo with the stew and my house smelled unbelievable all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
We couldn't believe how fabulous this was. It was AMAZING. I followed the recipe exactly, other than using fresh dill and mint instead of the dried. I was afraid that it would be bland, but it was anything but. Good ol' lamb. My husband, mother-in-law, and I couldn't get enough. I'm about to cook up another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I am wondering if it is too watery for some people because they simmered it covered, instead of uncovered? The recipe does not say to cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
My kids loved this because it was bland. My husband not so much. We eat mostly Indian food so this didn't have that kick we usually like. I added cauliflower and used frozen green beans. I didn't have mint and celery so I had to skip those ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My family LOVED this!! My husband and kids have never tried lamb before (my youngest son who said the blessing that added "Pleeeeease help this food taste goo, amen" He cleaned his bowl and asked for leftovers the next day. I made it as-is and it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I am not sure why my result was so different from the other reviewers! I followed the recipe exactly as written, and it was WAY too watery (3 cups of water was tooooooo much). I had to add a lot of cornstarch to thicken it up. It also had absolutely no flavor. After my family had a serving, I went back and added a bunch of spices just to give it some flavor. Sorry, but this was just not good as written. I hope after it sits with the extra spices, it will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Absolutely the best lamb stew I've ever made! I omitted the celery and parsley as we don't like them, and I used fresh herbs instead of dried. I was skeptical about adding the cinnamon but I'm glad I did - it gave the stew a distinctly Middle Eastern aroma and flavor, which I love. It was a little bit watery when I added my fresh green beans but that was no biggie - I just left off the lid for the last 20 mins of cook time. Perfect! Fantastic recipe, Kathy! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Delicious with cubed top butt of lamb, shallot, green onion, sauteed swiss chard and Italian-seasoned diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I used Greek seasoning as suggested by another reviewer, garlic flakes, more cinnamon, and I pureed a can of Italian style stewed tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce. And I served it over white rice. The dish was amazingly good. My husband absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Great! I added more mint & dill and some fresh garlic. The sauce cooks down very nicely - I was worried it would be watery. The mister says its the best lamb stew he ever had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States