Lamb Stew with Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I added a clove of pressed garlic to the oil with the celery and onion, which I personally think was necessary, but I imagine the recipe as prepared is also very good. I also did not use the full 3 cups of water--I started with one and then added a little more as it thickened. The result was delicious! Excellent flavor, and was something different than the basic beef+potatoes+carrots stews I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Wow great. Doubled the spices except for cinnamon. Added garlic and cook with lid off until you add fresh green beans. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I have made a similar dish for my family many times with beef, but it's incredible with lamb! I didn't have celery, so I substituted a green pepper. Amazing! I didn't have mint either, and I omitted the dill and sugar. It turned out fantastic! My family ate it up! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My family really likedthis recipe and said they'd rather have this than roasted lamb! I thought it was very good but if I was rating on just what I thought I would have given it a 4/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stampspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I substituted 3cups water by 1.5cups wine and 1.5cups stock. Made creamy garlic mashed and laid stew on top..... divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have a Greek neighbor who made this for me but used beef,onions and slow cooked this stove top for 2 hrs till the beans were quite soft..It was very nice.It was served as is with crusty bread and a feta salad.He tells me in Greece families use this method for any type of meat including pork and chicken.I am going to try this tonight using pork.I may omit the mint and substitute sage.To the beef he added a touch of nutmeg with the sugar.Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Really good and easy to make. Not sure why the lamb has to simmer so long, though. It would also be good with potatoes added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
i made this last night. turned out very well. cooked the meat in crockpot and added grean beans when i got home from work. ill do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Futch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rensselaer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Good, but I put ~1/4 cup each of the herbs, freshly chopped... and diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States