Lamb Stew Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. Very easy to prepare and tastes great! Thanks.. GCB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have made this twice now, both times my ladyfriend and I have been very happy with it. Since some people thought it bland, I didn't measure out, but rather just went heavy with garlic pepper, garlic salt, and parsley. I found the flavor to be great. I sliced and precooked the veggies for about 50 minutes covered, with the suggested water in the pan, and near the end of that time, browned the lamb shoulder chops in olive oil with some rosemary. I lifted up the veggies with a spatula and slid the chops underneath to cover the bottom of the pan, covered by the veggies. Added a bit more water, and cooked for 30 min covered and 30 min uncovered. This is my introduction to cooking with lamb, and we both love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
My family enjoyed this. It was a hearty meal on a cold winter day and was very easy to make. Didnt use that many onions, and baked it probably an extra 40 minutes to get the veggies done..but the lamb was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
The technique was exactly what I was looking for, but browned the chops with 2 sprigs of rosemary in garlic olive oil, then layered and baked them as directed using only one onion. I did have to cook an extra hour. This was a really good recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was absolutely delish! I precooked the veggies before baking it. t was easy, simple & very tasteful. Even my fussy 16yo & 3yo ate it to hearts content. Will definitely be putting it in my recipe-box. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowfreeze_Sorbet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
What an easy and beautiful dish. Needed to cook it a bit longer than it said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjames4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I think I did something wrong. I "thought" I followed the directions exactly, but I ended up with so many veggies that it didn't fit in the casserole dish (the size stated in the recipe). Once I got everything as closely put together as possible to what the recipe called for and cooking it (for longer than stated) I tasted fine. I might make it again, but I'd definitely make some changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Hearty but bland.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Nothing special. One hour of cook time was enough to cook the lamb, but the carrots and potatoes were still hard. I used the juice to make gravy, but still not great. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This is definately the blandest recipe I have ever tried, my boyfriend and myself ate almost none of it. I definately won't be making it again, and don't suggest that anyone else does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Roasted Lamb Breast

See how to make a lamb dish that’s similar to pork belly or spare ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States