Lamb Shawarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this yesterday and it was divine! I was attracted to this recipe because of the many spices/herbs. And the smell of the marinating meat was a great indicator of how it was going to taste. I only had half a pound of lamb, but I did not scale down the sauce to a tenth -- I like sauces with my food. Also: I did not use a tablespoon of salt -- I used just a teaspoon and it was fine. If I had 5 lbs of meat, I probably would use more. Finally, I only had whole spices. I guessed on the conversions and tossed them all in the grinder. And because my lamb was *very* thinly sliced (paper thin), I only left this in the marinade for about 3 hours. My cayenne was probably old -- I used a full teaspoon and the dish was not hot. . I'm sure if I let it sit overnight, the flavors would be intense, but I was hungry and did not have the foresight to refrigerate this the night before. I did not have this as a shawarma, but as a dish of meat and sauce over bulgur. If I do decide to have shawarma, I might just scrape off the extra marinade before I grill this. This dish was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Loved it! I fed it to my roommates and friends, and everyone ate seconds and thirds. I didn't have lamb, so I used steaks instead, and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I halved the recipe and made it with chicken. I marinated the strips for 8 hours and they were phenomenal on pita bread w/the thick-style lebanese garlic sauce recipe from this site, some sliced dill pickles and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I was hesitant to make this recipe cause it wasnt reveiwed by anyone yet and i never cooked lamb before but i was so glad i tried it. It was soooo good. I had to make the marinade twice cause the first time i made it, it was way to hot and i actually like to eat hot things. So the second time i made it i reduced the cayanne pepper to 1/8tsp and it was perfect. I also tried the lamb 12hrs in the marinade and then 24 and definately the 24hrs was best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
OMG...this was fabulous!!! Like others, 1/8 tsp cayenne and only 1/2 tbsp salt. I let marinate for a little more than 24 hours. Flavor was so good!! Served it on pita bread and hummus. Can't wait to make it again in spring when I can grill it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobie Snyder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Made the full recipe for the sauce with the addition of 1/4tsp. allspice. However only used 1lb of Dall Sheep (game meat) cut into bite sized pieces. It was lovely. The yogurt, like buttermilk, tenderized the meat, seasoning imparted great flavor. It was not overpowering like some spice blends. Made it into gyro-like sandwiches, but would be great in couscous, chopped salads, or as Kebabs! Other reviewers have noted to cut back on cayenne if you aren't into "hot." I'd agree. Only used 1/2 tsp of cayenne and it was just the perfect amount of spicy without inducing tears and sweat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is my first time preparing lamb and I decided to use this recipe to prepare it. The lamb came out great and the flavor was superb!!! I love how you marinaded the lamb in sauce overnight to enrichen the flavor. I marinade mine 18 hours prior to cooking(prepared saturday night). I had 4 pieces of lamb shoulders and decided to grilled 2 pieces of lamb on stovetop (do not have a outside grill) and I decided to bake the other 2 in the oven at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, and both methods came out great!! This is going to be one of my frequent dishes to prepare for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I didn't add the lemon juice coz I'm afraid it'll be too sour just like the other recipe, and I didn't have mace, so I added allspice instead. It was flavorful! Maybe I'll add half the required lemon juice next time. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizMilitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great recipe. I only had time to let the meat marinate for about 5 hours, and it was still really good. Lots of flavor. Next time I will have to give it the full 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made it exactly as per the recipe, except that I cooked the sliced meat on skewers over the grill instead of in a pan. I served it with rice, yogurt/cucumber sauce, sliced tomatoes and onions, and grilled pita with hummus. Nom, nom, nom! It was, in a word, delicious. The leftovers didn't last long because I kept sneaking pieces of meat. Even cold it was delicious. Next time I'll have to make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States