Lamb Shawarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Yum! Love this combo of spices. Used with ground lamb and made my own gluten-free wraps. Me and my husband loved it. Even better served with tzatziki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Spices are excellent, however leave out the salt. Overpowers the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Really great! Just like other reviewers, my husband has been in the Middle East and said this was just as good as what he has had before! Thanks for sharing this recipe! Served on warmed naan bread with yogurt dill sauce (found in local market), julienned cucumber, tomatoes, and finely sliced onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was a little on the spicy side for our tastes, next time I will cut back on the cayenne. Yogurt curdled on cooking, but flavour was still very good. Served on rice, which was helpful in absorbing the extra spicy heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Was very yummy. All 5 kids enjoyed this on pita bread. Made half lamb and steak. Kept both meats separated in marination and cooking. The steak obtained more spiciness than the lamb. (I used double the marination with half salt and 1.7 lbs of lamb and 1.7 lbs steak. ) Served with rice and chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Marie Gill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Epic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was marvelous. Instead of stove top, I grilled it using a grilling basket. And instead of pita, I laid it on top of the Authentic Lebanese Fatoush, which you can find here on AllRecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Scrumptious ... however, one word of caution: a full Tbsp of salt seemed excessive & I scaled it back to 2 tsp. Next time I'll drop it to 1-1/2 tsp. I'm infamous for a heavy touch with salt and 2 tsp was on the borderline even for me. I took another poster's suggestion of doubling the amount of marinade and was glad I did. Also, the lamb contracted into a thicker form as it cooked (similar to hamburger patties), so I sliced it again after cooking. Next time I will also make as a wrap or bake my own pita bread; store bought pita is too flimsy for this purpose. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing, jwagner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I used the marinade for BBQ lamb ribs. Very tasty. I highly recommend. I am going to try Chicken next time. ymmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I only had time to marinate it for 9 hours and it still came out wonderful. I served it with homemade pita and hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States