Lamb Shank Braised in White Wine with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
It was absolutey delicious. I served it with garlic mashed pots and the rest of the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meanchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Well that was easy! Five stars just for the convenience. The flavor was great, too, so this will stay in the recipe box. Near the end of the cooking time, I threw some asparagus and carrots into the oven to roast and heated up some leftover potatoes for a very easy dinner. I took others' suggestion to make gravy by whisking in some flour with the liquid after the meat was plated. Tasted great with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
excellent. best part was I could make it a day ahead and reheat on Easter. For gravy, I put the cooking liquid in the blender and made a gravy with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I make lamb shanks all the time, and this was a different "take" on one of our favorite meals. I actually put them in a crockpot with a little less wine to start. They came out beautifully moist and the meat fell off the bones. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Braised lamb shanks are one of my favorite meals and I was drawn to this recipe because it was so simple. But it was so bland and I ugly. But I was able to save it by adding some hearty vegetable broth, a couple cinnamon sticks and some tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very tasty!! My husband was drooling when he walked through the door. I couldn't let the wine "gravy" go to waste so I thickened it with a little flour, so I could pour some over the lamb when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeghanA
Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Like another reviewer, I too bought lamb shanks and didn't know what to do with them. :) Always up for trying new things! I followed the recipe exactly, and even my husband (who hates anything "fancy") enjoyed it. WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
November 2006. Followed recipe as given, which is a switch for me. The white wine made for a different pairing with lamb, but quite delicious. Served with pasta with greens and olives, sauteed mushrooms, and a simple salad. Much enjoyed by all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Absolutely melt in the mouth tender. I seared mine in the pan initially and then cooked it in my slow cooker with the liquid made as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is a delicious recipe! The lamb just melts right in your mouth. It's also very easy to make. You won't be dissappointed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States