Lamb Shank Braised in White Wine with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Changed the recipe to serve 2 for my husband and myself. It was quick and easy to prepare and is definately a do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Eaton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Lambshanks came out amazingly well! Meat was so tender, juicy and falling off the bone - really melted in your mouth! Flavor was great - usually use red wine to make lamb shanks but white wine was delicious. Followed recipe exactly but omitted the olive oil when browning the lamb shank. The fat from the shanks browned themselves and then I drained most of the excess oil. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Simply gorgeous, they just dissolved in your mouth. I served them with roast potatoes and vegies. I poured some of the juices over the vegies at the end. Compliments all around from everyone. I was enjoying them so much I didn't want my plate to become empty. I will most definitely be cooking them again and I made no changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janzjewelz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caerphilly, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Absolutely melt in the mouth tender. I seared mine in the pan initially and then cooked it in my slow cooker with the liquid made as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
November 2006. Followed recipe as given, which is a switch for me. The white wine made for a different pairing with lamb, but quite delicious. Served with pasta with greens and olives, sauteed mushrooms, and a simple salad. Much enjoyed by all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very tasty!! My husband was drooling when he walked through the door. I couldn't let the wine "gravy" go to waste so I thickened it with a little flour, so I could pour some over the lamb when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeghanA
Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I stumbled on this recipe because I bought lamb shanks but had no idea how to cook them. Rosemary is one of my favorite herbs so this recipe caught my eye. The combination of Rosemary and lamb was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I make lamb shanks all the time, and this was a different "take" on one of our favorite meals. I actually put them in a crockpot with a little less wine to start. They came out beautifully moist and the meat fell off the bones. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I really enjoyed making this recipe. i did, however, alter it a bit by using red wine instead of white, that gave it a richer flavor. My husband is still talking about how good it was!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is a delicious recipe! The lamb just melts right in your mouth. It's also very easy to make. You won't be dissappointed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States