Lamb Shank Braised in White Wine with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Changed the recipe to serve 2 for my husband and myself. It was quick and easy to prepare and is definately a do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Eaton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Lambshanks came out amazingly well! Meat was so tender, juicy and falling off the bone - really melted in your mouth! Flavor was great - usually use red wine to make lamb shanks but white wine was delicious. Followed recipe exactly but omitted the olive oil when browning the lamb shank. The fat from the shanks browned themselves and then I drained most of the excess oil. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I stumbled on this recipe because I bought lamb shanks but had no idea how to cook them. Rosemary is one of my favorite herbs so this recipe caught my eye. The combination of Rosemary and lamb was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is a delicious recipe! The lamb just melts right in your mouth. It's also very easy to make. You won't be dissappointed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Absolutely melt in the mouth tender. I seared mine in the pan initially and then cooked it in my slow cooker with the liquid made as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
November 2006. Followed recipe as given, which is a switch for me. The white wine made for a different pairing with lamb, but quite delicious. Served with pasta with greens and olives, sauteed mushrooms, and a simple salad. Much enjoyed by all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Like another reviewer, I too bought lamb shanks and didn't know what to do with them. :) Always up for trying new things! I followed the recipe exactly, and even my husband (who hates anything "fancy") enjoyed it. WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very tasty!! My husband was drooling when he walked through the door. I couldn't let the wine "gravy" go to waste so I thickened it with a little flour, so I could pour some over the lamb when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeghanA
Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Braised lamb shanks are one of my favorite meals and I was drawn to this recipe because it was so simple. But it was so bland and I ugly. But I was able to save it by adding some hearty vegetable broth, a couple cinnamon sticks and some tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I make lamb shanks all the time, and this was a different "take" on one of our favorite meals. I actually put them in a crockpot with a little less wine to start. They came out beautifully moist and the meat fell off the bones. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States