Lamb Shank Braised in White Wine with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Tasted like pot roast; a poor one at that. Seemed like a waste of fresh lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
It is a woundefull dish I used red wine instear of white, a Merlot. The dish came out wounderful the meat was so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I gave three stars because even though I didn't enjoy this particular recipe, those I cooked for did. I found it terribly bland, almost as if the white wine soaked out any possibility of flavor which is hard since rosemary tends to be a strong ingredient by itself and usually then only more potent as other herbs/spices are added. Now my guests loved it, it was a nice alternative to the usual mint jelly. They found the recipe to be a great tenderizer for the lamb and mighty tasty. I guess you either love this or hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idonteatblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I used a Lamb roast cut into 1-1.5 inch thick slices. I made this recipe as directed and it came out perfect! I am already planning to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Tried this for the first time and was very impressed. The meat was tender and juicy. I will say that the shank part of the lamb is a bit more fatty and dark...so beware if you do not like this type of meat. Fantastic flavors and was super easy. I used chardonnay with a splash of chicken stock. Added a bit of corn strach mixed with the pan juices to thicken at the end. Served with oven roasted potatoes and peas. Will make this again and would serve to company ( if I know they like lamb).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very delicious! Cooks well, very savory and delicious! Made with some oven baked red potatoes and some sauteed green beans. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NedNoD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Good, but not great. I would definitely double the seasoning and add a lot more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was a wonderful dish for a dinner party as you can prepare everything in advance and then let it cook whilst you enjoy a cocktail or two with your guests. I baked mine in the oven at 180 degrees centigrade for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This recipe was easy and taste awesome! I used Sherry in place of the wine and addes some petite red potatoes during the last 45 minutes they simmered... After it was done I took out the meat and potatoes and thickened the sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I made this with only one lamb shank but only halved the sauce ingredients using my cast iron skillet. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States