Lamb Madras Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My husband is from India and he absolutely loves this! I follow the recipe except that I use ground spices instead of whole. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is time consuming but totally worth it. My husband and I loved it. This was my first experience making lamb and I used lamb stew meat, which was tough. Next time I will choose a better cut of lamb. I wonder how this would be with goat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was fantastic. I used leftover cooked lamb, and just added it near the end. I added potatoes and boiled them with the gravy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Excuse me you only have 5 stars to rate this recipe, I would request 5 more stars please. (total of 10)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curteslee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Took quite a while to make, but was so worth it. I used chicken instead of lamb and it turned out really well, but I think I will make it with lamb next time to get that extra flavour. The meat was tender and juicy, and the sauce was rich and beautifully fragrant. I've never cooked Indian food before so I was a bit intimidated, but it was pretty easy to make and turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I LOVE this curry. I have only found one Indian restaurant that makes it this way, whenever I try it from a different restaurant it's always tomatoee. So I actually went looking for a recipe that was similar and this is it. My partner and I just had a combined birthday party and I made several dishes. Out of 50 people only 5 said this wasn't their favourite! I was really hoping for leftovers but there was none! I served it with the naan recipe from this site and was asked by heaps of people for both recipes. Awesome, thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Used most of the ingredients except curry leaves. Used curry instead. I did not follow the method at all as it looked too tedious, I just "winged it". Came out perfecto! Wonderful flavours! Thanks, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M'Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe. Had to use mutton instead of lamb, Wonderful. Had to cook it longer but flavours were even more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was super exceptional; my guests are still talking about it. I made this accompanied by chapatis and it was finger licking great! I had no tamarind paste so I used some lemon juice (for the zesty taste) and I substituted the sugar with honey. Thanks a mil for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I have been cooking curries for a few years and this wosrt!! overall a good flavour but does not resemble a madras and is far too oily even though I did not use Ghee!!! Much better curries out there!! Dirty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States