Lamb Lover's Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Absolutely fantastic! At the other reviewer's suggestions, I used a higher quality lamb meat and made sure to trim half the fat to allow a little extra to flavor the dish since most of it seems to burn off. I also added couscous instead of the bulgar, and it seemed to be just as good. I added a little extra cinnamon, too. The raisins added just the touch of sweetness to compliment the dish, but my boyfriend hates raisins, so I drizzled a bit of honey over the top of his dish, and he said it complimented the flavors very well. I'm definitely keeping this to make again, and I'm eager to find some sides that will pair up well with this main course. Perhaps something a bit spicy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
delicious! not difficult at all, though a bit time consuming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was perfect, oh my god I think we're having this every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Sooo good!I was a little leary to try it because I only had ground lamb on hand, but OH MY!I added a little extra bulgur to even out the lamb amount and also added a can of sliced carrots so it was a complete meal!I could eat lamb every day lol and not tire of it...So I am always excited to find new recipes (excuses) to make it.THis is a keeper...THANK YOU for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
This looked quick, simple, and like something a 'little different' so I made it this evening. Very tasty! I didn't have bulghar at home so I used couscous - I think it worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This dish is an excellent adventure in Middle Eastern cooking! It's fairly simple to make. The raisins are essential! We substituted beef for lamb once, it turned out successful, but the lamb is definitely superior. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was delicious! I used a lamb shoulder steak and sliced it thinly. The meat was a touch bland, but it's not so obvious when it's mixed in with everything else. The combination of flavors is great and very different from what I usually eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
I used lamb stew meat like the recipe said, but it turned out rather bland and chewy. I'd recommend trying it with higher quality meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferry, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Era, Michigan, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States