Lamb L'Arabique Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Very easy to make and a beautiful blend of flavours.Aromatic and delicious! I served it with cous cous and it was real treat. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I altered this recipe a bit and made it in my Crockpot. Here’s what I did. Used two containers of 26oz parlamat chopped tomatoes, 1 large eggplant sliced to ½ inch, sweated by salting waiting 30 minutes and blotting, then sautéed, 2 chopped green Serrano chilis (seeded), and I soaked ½ cup of dried lentils in 2 cups of boiling water for 1 hour (this constituted pre-cooking) and used 2 onions instead of 1. I also used a deboned half leg of lamb which I cubed. I omitted the hot sauce (the extra chili did the trick.) I browned the meat, removed then browned the onion garlic as instructed. I then combined the remaining ingredients in my crockpot and cooked for 4 hours on high (admittedly, I stirred once, but I’m sure you don’t need to.) I then left on warm for 2 hours to let the meat get more tender. This was excellent served over some plain couscous with a nice glass of red wine. I will admit, this was even better the next day! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This was great! Add salt and pepper to taste. I also used canned diced tomatoes for the cost factor in the winter time (tomatoes can be a bit pricey this time of year). I only use cinnamon sticks and added 2. I didn't use shanks...just pieces of lamb with bone in. Skipped the taking lamb back out of pan...just poured the sauce over the lamb and into the oven. I adjusted the baking time accordingly because I wasn't using those big shanks. Taste was wonderful and the spices blended nicely....loooove smokey flavor cumin gives dishes. I served this over couscous. Instead of peppers, just threw in some spicey tunisian ground chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I tried the recipe but omitted the peppers and reduced the cinnamon as I'm not a fan. I used cayenne instead of flakes. It came out with still nice middle eastern flavors but needed salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This was a good recipe to try if you want something different. I made it because I had some cooked lentils to use up and I did an "ingredient search" and decided to try it. I do not have a taste for middle eastern cuisine, or else I probably would have rated this as five stars, because it was easy and turned out really well. I loved the meat on the shanks, but there was too much gristle to pick around for my taste. Also, it did take longer than 20 minutes prep time - more like 45 for me, but maybe I'm just slow :o) Thanks for the recipe, though - my husband and I both enjoyed something a little different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
this was amazing, i cooked it for my mum and step dad when they came over last week and it was great. the sauce is great by itself as well, served with brown rice and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Delicious!! Made this with ground lamb and did not bake, just let it simmer on the stove. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Relly loved the aggressive use of cumin and cinammon. Great with fatty lamb on a cold evening.!!! The sweetness can be fine tuned with a little extra green chilli. Super!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Deserves 10 stars! I served this with J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits from this site together with baked red cabbage with apple and plain steamed green beans and my famly thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful. The only changes I made were to use a whole small green chili and doubled up on the lentils but didn't use the chickpeas. Clean plates all round in my house! Many thanks - very impressed - definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Very easy and delicious! We never finish the beans if we run out of meat, so skipped the chickpeas and just used about 3/4 c of lentils. To make it even easier, used a can of tomato sauce and one large tomato diced (only about 3 c tomatoes total because used less beans). I left it for about 3 hours at 350 while I ran errands and it was just falling apart. Definitely recommend trying this one. So flavorful and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States