Lamb L'Arabique Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Tomato and lamb seemed like an off combo to me but the recipe had so many positive ratings I decided to give it a go. Great decision! I made a few very minor changes to use what I had on hand. I used canned tomatoes with jalapeños in place of the Roma's and hot sauce and left out the lentils. I also did the whole thing in my cast iron Dutch Oven, stovetop and oven. My house smelled heavenly as it cooked and the taste was just as good, I served it with couscous. Thanks, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! Definitely one I'd choose for company . I used canned roma tomatoes and increased the pepper flakes a bit. My husband rated this as one of his favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robgraphics
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Did not change a thing in this recipe, which is really unusual for me, because this was my first attempt at this type of cuisine. Not one spice overwhelmed the overall flavor, so if there is one you normally don't like, still add it. The blend results in a great flavor. Well worth the prep time. I used a Serrano chile and, next time, I will use a hotter chile (to add a little more bite, which I like). Served this with Moroccan Couscous and Cucumber Raita. The raita was great with both dishes. The combination made for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robgraphics

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Wonderful dish. So simple, especially using canned chick peas and lentils, but tasted like a million dollars. Didn't make it quite so hot and added celery and carrot to the vegetable mix. Rubbed the lamb with salt and pepper just after browning. Served it with couscous, fresh salad, pitta bread and a yoghurt-cucumber-lemon dip, which balanced the heat and texture of the dish very nicely. Went down very well with all ages. Thank you to the contributor, this one will run and run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I am Heather Farah, the creator of this recipe. Thrilled that you all like it, but mine uses no heat whatsoever, certainly never a chile! (I have 4 kids, lol). Also, I've *always* used canned crushed & diced tomatoes (again, 4 kids, keeping it cheap). Everyone seems to modify it to their liking anyway, which is great! And yes, you can make a crock pot version, but it's best to do your caramelizing in a pan first and then let it all go in the crock; but I do prefer the higher heat of an oven. More flexibility.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Can't believe how good this turned out! Found this recipe completely by accident, but I will be making this again. The kids cleaned their plates and went back for seconds which says alot! Served with homemade pitas on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Found this doing an ingredient search, and ended up deciding to make it as a side dish to accompany the lamb I was broiling. I used 2 tomatoes and some "starter" marinara sauce, some sliced carrots and then followed the rest of the ingredients of the recipe to a "T". I simmered on the stovetop for about an hour and t turned out wonderfully. I served it with couscous and the broiled lamb and both my husband and I loved it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes now! I had a couple of friends over for dinner and they loved it. We were all wanting to eat something a bit healthier as the holidays had a taken a toll everyone. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was pretty good. The lamb tasted awesome, but it was too tomatoey. I will make it again, but with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was amazing! No changes to the recipe, no substitutions. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States