Lamb Feta Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
The peppers turned out very good. These peppers made with lamb were more robust in flavor then an average stuffed pepper. The garlic and onion combo added just the right touch of spicy flavor. To the onion mixture, I added a diced up hot pepper and more garlic to give it some extra flavor. We had cubed lamb handy, so we diced that up in small pieces and it worked just fine. Instead of using plain feta cheese, I used a tomato basil feta cheese. I would think that even the garlic and herb feta cheese would also be good depending on your preference. I added almost double the tomato sauce and it still was not enough for our taste. I will be adding more next time. All in all, it was a good recipe and I will be making it in the future. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austintown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was great! I added the lamb to the onion mixture and browned it; removed from heat, and folded in the feta. I used garlic and herb feta. I also used tomato soup instead of tomato sauce. There is already sugar in the soup, so I just added the lemon juice. Then baked for 30 minutes with foil cover and 15 min uncovered. The were wonderful!! Thank you! btw, I used yellow, orange, and green peppers...they worked great! I've also made this with eggplants instead of peppers...it's excellent as well. (do everything the same, just use eggplants instead)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
My roommate enjoyed this more than I did but he wasn't amazed by it. Based on previous reviews I made the following changes: added a dash of Aleppo pepper, doubled the garlic and I doubled the sauce. My grocery store did not have ground lamb so I used ground turkey. I am not sure why I didn't enjoy this, but I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Absolutely fabulous! My husband and I loved this. I made a few changes - instead of stuffing the whole pepper, I sliced three sweet red peppers in half lengthwise, filled them with the meat mixture (cut the amount of lamb in half, the rest of the ingredients stayed the same). Two halves is a serving for my hubby, one half is plenty for me. You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
It took MUCH longer than 15 min. to prepare, and longer than 1 hr to bake. I even had the oven at a higher temp than directed. The flavor was good, lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This dish is DELICIOUS!!! Although using mostly the same ingredients (except for more garlic and a dash of red pepper flakes) I browned the lamb, then the onions and garlic, mixing in the spices at the end to bring out more flavor. I also blanched the bell peppers for about 5 minutes which helped reduce baking time. I mixed in a little (bottled) spaghetti sauce to bind the meat mixture before filling the peppers and then topped them off with a little more sauce and more crumbled feta. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Very tasty! I browned the ground lamb in the skillet then added the onion, and sauteed it until it was soft. I then added the garlic, pepper and dill (I only had dried dill). I had a bottle of Ragu that needed using so I added that. It was pretty sweet already, so I omitted the sugar and threw in a good slug of bottled lemon juice. When the sauce had simmered for about 45 mins, I added the cooked rice and feta (I knew the feta would be salty, so I omitted salt also). Finally, I sliced the lids off the peppers, boiled the peppers for about 10 mins. Then I stuffed them, and topped them with a little more feta. Baked them for about 25 mins. Perfect! Great recipe. Thanks so much, Taseia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
My family loved this recipe! We live in an area with many Middle Eastern and Greek restaurants -- this recipe is the real thing. Please -- don't change seasonings if you want an authentic flavor. It did take longer to prepare (about 30 minutes) and it took close to 1 hour and 20 mins to bake. However, it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARMERSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
These were fabulous! I would include a little more feta next time, but that is just our preference...pine nuts would be good too! I cooked the lamb with the onions before stuffing the peppers. Loved the idea from a previous review about cutting the peppers in half! I made mashed potatoes and a veggie and had a wonderful meal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Very filling - needs a bit more sauce but that is easily fixed. I found it easy to prepare and the timings listed in the recipe to be correct. Very yummy, good reheated too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States