Lamb Feta Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
My roommate enjoyed this more than I did but he wasn't amazed by it. Based on previous reviews I made the following changes: added a dash of Aleppo pepper, doubled the garlic and I doubled the sauce. My grocery store did not have ground lamb so I used ground turkey. I am not sure why I didn't enjoy this, but I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I had to use beef for this. Ground lamb is so hard to find. We liked the flavors of this very much. I can't wait to make again with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but the filling came out very dense and not of pleasant texture. Might try it again and cook the lamb beforehand... Was I supposed to? Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This dish is DELICIOUS!!! Although using mostly the same ingredients (except for more garlic and a dash of red pepper flakes) I browned the lamb, then the onions and garlic, mixing in the spices at the end to bring out more flavor. I also blanched the bell peppers for about 5 minutes which helped reduce baking time. I mixed in a little (bottled) spaghetti sauce to bind the meat mixture before filling the peppers and then topped them off with a little more sauce and more crumbled feta. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
Served this to guests last nite and it was a big hit. Couldn't find ground lamb in my supermarket, so I used ground turkey and it came out great. Followed others suggestion, and I doubled the sauce quantities and we had plenty of sauce to pass around. Thanks for a GREEEEEEAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Absolutely fabulous! My husband and I loved this. I made a few changes - instead of stuffing the whole pepper, I sliced three sweet red peppers in half lengthwise, filled them with the meat mixture (cut the amount of lamb in half, the rest of the ingredients stayed the same). Two halves is a serving for my hubby, one half is plenty for me. You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This is really good. It does need to be cooked longer and I would use more sauce the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This was great! I added the lamb to the onion mixture and browned it; removed from heat, and folded in the feta. I used garlic and herb feta. I also used tomato soup instead of tomato sauce. There is already sugar in the soup, so I just added the lemon juice. Then baked for 30 minutes with foil cover and 15 min uncovered. The were wonderful!! Thank you! btw, I used yellow, orange, and green peppers...they worked great! I've also made this with eggplants instead of peppers...it's excellent as well. (do everything the same, just use eggplants instead)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This dish is much 'lighter' on the stomach than the usual beef. We certainly liked that. I added more garlic and I think next time we make it I'm adding a shake or two of hot sauce to the tomato sauce. I used basil-tomato feta too. I'll make this again but probably with ground turkey since ground lamb is hard to find here. I hope it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
These are delicious! I used peppercorn fetta and it was outstanding. These are by far the best tasting peppers I've ever eaten - dito for my family! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States