Lamb Feta Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This recipe was wonderful. I loved the flavors. The sauce was more cooking liquid, though, not "smothered in sauce". But I feel the peppers could stand alone without any kind of sauce, that's how much I enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I spent $5.50 for ground lamb and honestly I think beef would be better. I did not pre-cook meat, made it like it says. Good but not "Wow"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
For some weird reason, even though I live in Astoria, the mini-Greektown of NYC, I could not for the life of me find ground lamb!! I went to 2 butcher shops and 2 supermarkets. Sigh. I substituted ground veal instead since it has about the same cooking temp as lamb. Very tasty and fun to make recipe! I used imported feta and it tasted delicious in the stuffing. The stuffing was a little too soggy for my liking, but the flavor was still very good. Where did you people who used ground lamb find it? Do you have meat grinders?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Do not change a thing. Where are the rest of the "family" recipes? Dish up now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I really like these with steamed rice and broccoli. My boyfriend was not to crazy about them, but he is more of a drive thru kinda guy. Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by killerbroccoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corte Madera, California, USA
Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
These are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Very tasty! I browned the ground lamb in the skillet then added the onion, and sauteed it until it was soft. I then added the garlic, pepper and dill (I only had dried dill). I had a bottle of Ragu that needed using so I added that. It was pretty sweet already, so I omitted the sugar and threw in a good slug of bottled lemon juice. When the sauce had simmered for about 45 mins, I added the cooked rice and feta (I knew the feta would be salty, so I omitted salt also). Finally, I sliced the lids off the peppers, boiled the peppers for about 10 mins. Then I stuffed them, and topped them with a little more feta. Baked them for about 25 mins. Perfect! Great recipe. Thanks so much, Taseia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This a great Greek meal. My husband and I loved. My mother-in-law, who is greek also thought they we great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This recipe was very yummy. I browned the ground lamb before stuffing the peppers and reduced the cooking time. I inexplicably had no aluminum foil on hand, so I couldn't cover them. I would cover them next time in order to reduce the amount of liquid in each pepper. I may even try to use spaghetti sauce or add tomato paste next time. I also think I will reduce the number of peppers in order to stuff them more fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
My roommate enjoyed this more than I did but he wasn't amazed by it. Based on previous reviews I made the following changes: added a dash of Aleppo pepper, doubled the garlic and I doubled the sauce. My grocery store did not have ground lamb so I used ground turkey. I am not sure why I didn't enjoy this, but I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States