Lamb Feta Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Delicious.. and I followed the recipe exactly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I gave this 5 because hubby raved I was surprised he doesn't usually like lamb. I took others advice and doubled garlic and added red pepper flakes. I also used goat instead of feta. I used a pint of cherry toms add a tad evoo/vinegar/lemon and spices. I like to control the salt. Two cups was enough to cover but none on the bottom. I think it still needs something....chopped pepperoncini and some chopped olives for alittle kick. I also had to cook longer to get 160.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This had such an explosion of flavor for so few ingredients! I cut the tops off of the peppers (I used red peppers) and boiled them for about 10 minutes. I also cooked the lamb in a skillet with the onions and extra garlic until almost done. I doubled the sauce ingredients but omitted the water. I sliced my peppers in half, filled them with the meat and rice filling, and covered them with the sauce. I baked them (covered) for 20 minutes and then uncovered for 10 more minutes. My husband and I both loved them! Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TriciaC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is just wonderful!!!! I loved loved loved this recipe. I did double the sauce just in case. I also added more lemon than what called for. I doesn't matter if you are greek or not. This is the BEST! Serve this for company so you can get all the raves!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Oh wow delicious!!! This is one of the best recipes I have tried in a long time. I love Greek food and ethnic flavors. This is it! I used more than half a pound ground lamb and a high-quality feta cheese. Makes a difference when you use the good stuff. I used only 4 peppers and the rice was uncooked. I would use cooked next time as it came out a little chewy. I also like my peppers spicy and saucy so I tripled the garlic and added some crushed red pepper to the sauce. Instead of just a cup of sauce I used a can of crushed tomatoes, the juice of one whole lemon and a couple tablespoons of sugar. I figured the peppers would cook faster if I browned the lamb with the onions. I also threw in a few tablespoons of sauce with the meat and rice and tripled the dill because I just love fresh dill. Baked for an hour and it came out just beautifully. Perfect spot on Greek flavor..better than my local restaurant! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I LOVE it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Wonderful recipe. There is no where near enough sauce, so I end up making double. Also, my girlfriend is a vegetarian, so I leave the lamb out of two of the peppers. She loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Now that I've found this recipe I will never make a different stuffed pepper again. This is outstanding- full of flavor. Even my 14 month old daughter couldn't get enough. I pumped up the garlic, doubled the tomato sauce and put some of the sauce in the pepper mix and added a little hot sauce. Just fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
great recipe with lots of Mediterranean flavors.The changes I made were adding more allspice and dill along with extra Feta. I also found that the stuffing needed a little extra salt than called for, but that depends on your taste. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabeacook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I made these for my family, including my picky mother who claims to dislike lamb, and everyone enjoyed them. I really enjoyed making them and I'm looking forward to making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
The flavor was good however I should have parboiled the peppers. They were not cooked enough and i even uped the temp. in the oven. I even left them in the oven 10 more minutes. They were dry and dense on the inside. My mom has been making stuffed peppers all my life. I am sorry but I will atick to her way of making them. I did like the allspice, feta and lamb though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States