Lamb Feta Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These were fabulous. I loved the suggestion made by another reviewer to cut the peppers top to bottom to make 'boats'; I thought the presentation was much more attractive, and you get a better ratio of filling to stuffing. Used red bell peppers because I don't like green ones that much; otherwise followed recipe pretty faithfully. I did add about 1/2 of a lemon's worth of zest to the filling -because we're big lemon fans - which was an excellent plan, but would've still been fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I would give this 10 stars if I could; I am an accomplished cook in various ethnic cuisines and this was by far the very best stuffing I have ever had. Just the two of us ate the entire recipe in 2 dinners. I then make another batch and stuffed everything I could lay my hands on - zuchinni, yellow squash, "koosa", cabbage, even some poblano peppers - excellent in all of them! I used my own homemade tomato sauce and maybe that made it even better, hard to know. Thank You for posting your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Vanhoek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I had a ton of green peppers from the garden, so I made this. Suggestion: Use pie tins for baking these, it holds the sauce in the bottom better and makes it easier to baste during cooking. Took about 1.25 hours for the green peppers to get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I thought this was very good. The only issue I had with it was that mine was also not cooked through. Unfortunately, you cannot tell that until you start eating it... I would thinking adding another 10 min of cooking time or increasing the temperature a bit should remedy that. The only thing I changed about the recipe is that I added more garlic (because I really like garlic). My boyfriend and roommate also really enjoyed this recipe. Next time, I think I will add some chili powder or something to make it a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were amazing. Only thing I will do next time is double the sauce. My 20 month old son even ate a whole one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
These were the best stuffed peppers I have ever made. I par nuked the peppers for 4 mins. I also subbed ground turkey, used dried dill, and instant brown rice. I am sure it is even better with lamb but I didn't have any. Loved the allspice and feta combo. I would probably make more sauce if I make these again. Served them with minted yogurt cukes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Made this tonight -- the taste is just amazing! The amount of stuffing was just enough for 4 peppers, so if you're doing 6, I really recommend adding more of everything for the stuffing mix. I pre-cooked the meat and the rice (just a personal preference), added a pinch extra dill and lemon, and it turned out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I cut the peppers in bite size pieces and proceeded with the recipe. Used TWP for meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These were great! We used red peppers instead of green because of personal preference. We also browned and drained the meat before baking so that they would contain less fat. Other than that we followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I don't care for lamb so I used ground turkey. But pretty much followed the rest of the recipe, except for using uncooked brown instant rice for the cooked rice(just to save a few steps and time). And these were GREAT! I'm white bread American but love the flavors of the dill and allspice and feta in these peppers. Have to admit I was apprehensive about that much dill but it was wonderful. I even put some of the feta into the filling and loved that too. Thanks Taseia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States