Lamb Feta Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by busybeee_3
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Good recipe. Love the lamb & the dill. Will add a little cayenne pepper next time for some heat, and some grated mozzarella for some extra cheesiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
AMAZING! This was a hit for my family. But instead of using feta (even though I love it) I took a chance and used goat cheese. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Belvidere, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
These were delicious! And I did follow the advice of one of the reviewers who skipped the sugar and added some lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I love these. It's hard for me not to eat the filling before I even put it in the peppers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
WOW! This is a keeper. My variation was I used uncooked wild rice,a little over 1/2 cup, and increased covered cook time by 10 mins and uncovered by 5. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
very flavorful. Family loved them. Easy to prepare. I used 1/2 pound of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I used red bell peppers. I used tomato soup in the mixture and cooked in the microwave for convenience and quickness. Yummy, totally yummy flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Lamb is a bit of a unique taste, but my husband loves it so I tried these peppers. I used double the sausage and less rice. I diced the tops of the peppers and added them to the stuffing. He loved it! He said it was the best meal he has had in a long time. Next time I will take another reviewer's suggestion and use quinoa instead of rice, and will use a can or two of stewed tomatoes instead of the sauce. I had plenty of stuffing - not enough sauce or peppers, due to doubling the sausage. I did cook the peppers for a few minutes first in salt water. We like them a bit softer. This one is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Thank you! This is a solid recipe, with Greek flavors that blend well for the uninitiated, but with plenty of room for a confident cook to play. I have made stuffed peppers plenty of times, usually with beef and Italian seasoning, and I have been unimpressed. Using lamb changes the whole story, and I will only stuff green peppers with lamb from now on! I used quinoa (because I have been cooking with rice constantly lately), and even while cooking the quinoa beforehand, it's aroma made me feel that mixing it with lamb was a perfect match. I was not wrong! Also, my peppers were so large that I only used 4, and I had some room at the top after stuffing. This gave me a nice moat in which my tomato sauce could eddy, without spilling much into the pan. Uncovered, they cooked for about 1 hour and 15 minutes at 350F to reach 170F in the center. The resultant browning on the top made me want to sprinkle some mozzarella cheese, so I did and that was a nice topping (even it that is not Greek :). ***One thing that I thought was super special, because of my own mistake, was that after I stuffed the peppers, instead of mixing the lemon with the tomato sauce, I squeezed the lemon directly onto the meat mixture in the peppers. This resulted in a yummy lemony layer that was a big tasty surprise! I highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Big hit! Alterations made; reduced rice to 1/2 C added diced zucchini, I also pre-boiled the bell peppers (dutch oven in about 2 inches of salted water while I was chopping the vegetables.. about 5min med burner) I also used a pound of Lamb and had to pour the extra fat out of the fry pan. Next time I would cook lamb first and skip the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States