Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
A savory dish without garlic?! Oh, the humanity! I set this precious dish on a bed of wild greens, avocado & seasonal tomatoes with a whisper of bleu cheese. An incomparable success! A glass of good red wine cleared the tongue, readying it for more, more, more! (added 05/12/07: Fry a sliced pear or two until golden brown after you fry the meat. Pour the prepared vinegarette over both!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
496 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is an excellent recipe for lamb. One of the few recipes here I've changed little to none. I see quite a few complaints on the reduction as being either too thin, or that there's too much left over. Make sure you give the sauce time to reduce(reductions are by no means quick), and know that the more surface area to your skillet, the less time it takes to reduce. Also, if you're trying to do this in a non stick pan, that might be the problem. Use good stainless steel as it is a great heat conductor, and also necessary to properly sear the lamb. I also see complaints about it tasting too "vinegary". If you reduce it properly and use high end balsamic vinegar, you should not have this problem. After all, there is no point to CHEAP balsamic vinegar, EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This was my first time making lamb so I was more than a little nervous. I cannot believe how great this was! My husband kept making sounds after biting into it, "Ooh, Ahhh,ummmm....." I would give it ten stars if I could. The lamb was great served on a bed of wild greens and the reduction sauce was perfect drizzled over everything including my rosemary baked potato wedges. It paired well with Nero D'avola's "Romolo Buccellato" (a red wine). An unsung hero of a wine, well worth the $8 we paid for it. Next time I'll try shallots instead of onions and I'll look for a nice warm deep mellow balsamic. I'm exciting about making it again, maybe even making it for a dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was AMAZING! Keep in mind that you should use a GOOD quality balsamic in this recipe. The stuff you buy for $3/bottle is fine for marinades or maybe dressings, but when using basamic as a foundation in a sauce, shoot for upper-end grocery store quality; or even better, swing by a gourmet shop for a high quality vinegar. A recipe is only as good as the ingredients you use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Delicious! I followed this recipe very closely. I placed the rub on the chops a few hours before dinner. Excellent flavor and aroma. I doubled the sauce (& cooking time) and added just a pinch of flour to it near the end to thicken. Soooo tasty. One tip for other lamb neophytes... the lamb chops i bought were the size of lollipops. I didn't realize how small they were until I got home because the butcher wrapped them before I saw them. They were very tender and tasty, but you would've needed at least twice the number of chops to satisfy. So, check the size of the chops before you buy them and adjust accordingly. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I love Lamb, And this is a great recipe. I changed the herbs to Herbes de Provence and this time it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
BOY OH BOY! We had this last night. Super fantastic delicious recipe. We followed the recipe exactly with the exception of rubbing the chops with garlic (3 large cloves minced) then rubbed with the mixture. Then seared the chops in the skillet to get some of the marinade in the sauce. Then I finished the chops on the grill. Also doubled the sauce mixture and it took 20-25 min. to cook down, which is a must. I'm not a fan of any kind of vinegar, but this was great. Will make it again and again. Larry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I have to admit that the whole reason I found this recipe was because I had a good bottle of aged balsamic vinegar that I wanted to try. I did an ingredient search and found this one, and boy am I glad I did. I took another reviewer's comment about using any cut of meat and used pork tenderloin, because I didn't have any lamb at home. Boy was this good! The blend of herbs and the reduction sauce were great! Of course, because I changed the meat, my cooking times were longer, but everyone wanted more and said how good it tasted! Thank you soooooo much for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Whenever I saute Lamb, I do it in garlic infused olive oil....adds flavor without chunks of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
When I first read this recipe I wasn't sure what to expect; but I was pleasantly surprised. I wasn't too impressed with the steaks I purchased (fatty and poor meat quality), but that isn't the recipes fault. The balsamic vinegar made for an interesting sauce. I used a more expensive 8 year old (aged) balsamic vinegar. It was a bit more spendy but worth it as it made the sauce wonderfully smooth. I highly recommend spending the extra money and getting a higher quality balsamic vinegar for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 871) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Grilled Lemon & Rosemary Lamb Chops

This yummy lamb chop marinade pairs Italian and Indian flavors.

Lamb Chops Braised in Pomegranate Juice

See how to make lamb chops braised in pomegranate juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States