Lamb Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Very, very tasty...my family couldn't stop eating it! I substituted the ground lamb for ground turkey, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I make this recipe all the time, it's very flexible and you can add any veggies you like, I like to throw in green beans and mushrooms in addition to the carrots, onion and celery. The broth is great, and I just usually use beef broth instead of the consomme. Sometimes I also use diced beef stew meat and simmer for a while until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
very good..however i did change a few things i had three lamb chops from a leg os lamb so i cubed it up and 1lbs of groung turky threw the meat and onion in a skillet and cooked until just browned....meanwhile in crock pot turned on to high i added half a big can of diced tomatoes and the tomato soup the recipe calls for i used 3 beef boullion cubes and about a tsp each of rosemary and thyme also added the meat and some mushrooms to the crock pot of course i followed the rest of the ingredients in the recipe like chile powder and barley..and whatever else that was in there...cooked half the day made some dinner rolls from this site..sprinkled a little swiss cheese over bowls..(so kids would try it) very yummy husbands only complaint was that it needed fresh japs but he loves everything spicey....o i did add a little more water to the recipe since it was in the crock pot but it came out very chunky and hearty...perfect for the cold day we had yesterday.....worth trying and if nothing else a great base to add to and take away from for barley stews...thanks for the recipe.....this is the first time i actaully got my hubby to eat barley!!! yippie!! i love barley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
add more meat, and veggies.. fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I needed to bring something to a family who needed comfort food. This was great. I added a bay leaf while cooking and actually used 2 pounds of lamb to make it more stew like. I also did not drain the diced tomatoes which added a little more flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Found this recipe while looking for recipes to use our ground lamb. My husband likes a lot of variety in our menus, but this is one dish he asks for often. So easy to make. I also use 2 pounds of lamb. We like to eat with sour dough bread. This recipe is at the top of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Wow! Easy, and delicious! We had leftover lamb from roast. I cut it up into little chunks. I didn't change a thing from the original recipes...and my husband and my 5 year old daughter loved it. I loved it too! There was plenty left, so we froze some. Perfect for a cold winter day. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I had a left-over leg of lamb and a lamb shank. Cut the meat off bones into small pieces. Followed the recipe but found it to be too acidic, so I added 2 tbs of sugar, 1 cup of grated cheese, herbes du provence/parsely, and 2 pinches of baking soda. Lovely! Found it to be very comforting.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I get a lamb from a local farmer each year, so have lots of bones to make soup with. I didn't use the ground lamb but used a lot of meaty bones and a leftover leg bone that I had frozen from a prior dinner. I used the same basic spices and this turned out great. What I did with the bones was to cover with water and simmer for a few hours with a large diced onion and an envelope of onion soup mix and a few bay leaves. (I didn't have the beef consomme or even an oxo cube so thought this would add the necessary salt and flavour). I then strained the whole thing, picked any meat off the bones and added the diced tomatoes, can of tomato soup and chili powder and doubled the barely called for. Turned on a very low simmer for a few more hours, got home from shopping and added a couple of handfuls of frozen mixed vegetables and some fresh celery and in about a half hour sat down to a very lovely soup for lunch. I also got several containers for the freezer. Thanks for the great ideas. Wouldn't have thought to mix the chili powder in this soup. I think it made for a nice little added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Awsome! I am usually not a fan of soup too much but decided to try this cause of the barley benefits and wow! Great as a base soup to add to! I added alittle more barley and did not drain the tomatos and left out the carrots...i will add them next time though and maybe some mushrooms too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwtxranger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States