Lamb Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
won a local cooking contest with this recipe with a few tweaks. i doubled the ground lamb, added a can of stewed tomatoes drained and chopped, added 8 oz chopped baby portabellas, one more can of tomato soup, one more can of consomme, upped the barley to 2/3 cup and at the end added some chopped up curly kale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Added more veggies, garlic, rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
mmmmm mmmmm good!! i can understand why there is no salt in this recipe. IT DOESNT NEED IT!!delicious. i had ground lamb, and ahve never eaten it, much less cooked it. we found exactly one pound for sale one day, and decided to buy it. i didnt know what to do with it and i looked on here. the first thing that popped up (after you click on rating) was this. not one person, including me has rated this less than 5 stars. i just realized we had barley the other day in our cabinet, and had also never cooked THAT before (gimme a break. im a fairly new cook) and gave it a try, especially bcuz of the impossibility that anyone was able to rate it less than 5. glad i tried this. i made this on christmas and thought i had all the ingredients, and looked back at the recipe and realized it said one 28 OZ, when i thought it was just a regular can, and everythings closed so i had to use just one and a can on tomato paste, but everything else i left alone. oh, and it said in your description you could/should add any other veggies so i used everything here and a little fresh broccoli as well. WOW! thats very rare that every single person that rates, esPECially on this website, gives something 5 stars. idk why more ppl havent tried. it is SO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I used ground meatloaf mixed meat instead of ground lamb simply because lamb was $10 more!! It was a great substitute affording a good hearty flavor. As another option, I would use lamb chunks for a nice stew :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Walkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
So so so good. Used 4 short beef ribs w/2 lbs of lamb shoulder. Forgot the tomato soup & used beef base for the broth-making 4 quarts of broth. Used 2 whole onions-about 4 stalks of celery-& the diced canned tomatoes. Used quick cooking barley(the whole box) & it made it like a stew-just what I wanted. Am adding mushrooms after the kids eat it. Just exactly what I was looking for-delicious & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Awsome! I am usually not a fan of soup too much but decided to try this cause of the barley benefits and wow! Great as a base soup to add to! I added alittle more barley and did not drain the tomatos and left out the carrots...i will add them next time though and maybe some mushrooms too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwtxranger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I get a lamb from a local farmer each year, so have lots of bones to make soup with. I didn't use the ground lamb but used a lot of meaty bones and a leftover leg bone that I had frozen from a prior dinner. I used the same basic spices and this turned out great. What I did with the bones was to cover with water and simmer for a few hours with a large diced onion and an envelope of onion soup mix and a few bay leaves. (I didn't have the beef consomme or even an oxo cube so thought this would add the necessary salt and flavour). I then strained the whole thing, picked any meat off the bones and added the diced tomatoes, can of tomato soup and chili powder and doubled the barely called for. Turned on a very low simmer for a few more hours, got home from shopping and added a couple of handfuls of frozen mixed vegetables and some fresh celery and in about a half hour sat down to a very lovely soup for lunch. I also got several containers for the freezer. Thanks for the great ideas. Wouldn't have thought to mix the chili powder in this soup. I think it made for a nice little added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I had a left-over leg of lamb and a lamb shank. Cut the meat off bones into small pieces. Followed the recipe but found it to be too acidic, so I added 2 tbs of sugar, 1 cup of grated cheese, herbes du provence/parsely, and 2 pinches of baking soda. Lovely! Found it to be very comforting.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Wow! Easy, and delicious! We had leftover lamb from roast. I cut it up into little chunks. I didn't change a thing from the original recipes...and my husband and my 5 year old daughter loved it. I loved it too! There was plenty left, so we froze some. Perfect for a cold winter day. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Found this recipe while looking for recipes to use our ground lamb. My husband likes a lot of variety in our menus, but this is one dish he asks for often. So easy to make. I also use 2 pounds of lamb. We like to eat with sour dough bread. This recipe is at the top of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States