Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
We just purchased a slow cooker so I wanted to experiment with different stews and selected this recipe. The results were amazing. I reduced the beef broth amount to 1 cup, threw in everything, except the sour cream and flour, in the morning before work. Then when I got home, I made a 'roux' with the sour cream and flour and then tossed it in to the stew. My husband has ranked this stew as one of his all-time favourite dishes! A word of caution about parsnips. If you've never had them, they are highly flavoured and definitely influence the overall taste of the stew. If you like them, you'll love the stew as written. If you don't, just take them out and add more of the other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was a wonderful stew, and the only things to complain about were things I did differently from the recipe and even so, It was great. Because it was to be the "quick supper before Christmas Eve services," I braised the lamb in advance, then dumped the veggies and broth and wine with the lamb into the slow cooker for an hour on high then on low for 5 hours. The butternut squash disintegrated entirely, but really richened the gravy -- I think next time I'll add the squash later on in the cooking. Also, I don't like sweet potatoes, so I used red-skinned potatoes instead, and used turnips instead of parsnips. It was lovely. I served it with a green salad and angel biscuits and a lightish red wine -- perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
I used this recipe several times last year. It is easy to substitute ingredients if need be and is a hearty evening meal when served with a fresh green salad and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I really liked this stew. I used more butternut squash than suggested, but I think that only added to the recipe. I actually cooked this in a crock-pot for 6 hours. Just before serving, I added the sour cream mixture. The lamb was extremely tender. Don't bother "peeling" the butternut squash with a peeler - it doesn't work well. I just used a paring knife and cut it up into segments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I used beef instead of lamb. It was good. I'd never had parsnips before or butternut squash so this was really new to me. I also had a lot of leftover veggies I didn't use so, I chopped them up and blanched them for 3 min. Then measured out the required amounts for the recipe and put it all in a Ziplock bag and froze it. Now all I have to do next time is drop in the contents of the bag and there will be no peeling or chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
What an awesome combination of flavors! My family went crazy over it...fighting for the last serving! I have now even added carrots and turnips to the pot. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This stew taste a little sweet, but absolutly love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAX8144

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
One winner of a recipe Brandy! This powerhouse of nutrition was a huge hit with my family. In addition to the vegetables stated, I added a turnip, kale, red potatoes, leeks and carrots. I also threw in some fresh chopped parsley and dill. Comfort food to the max and a great way to use up leftover lamb. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
An excellent lamb stew with lots of different flavors. Sweet, earthy, smooth and creamy. I prefer mine with more fresh ground pepper. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe! Make it gluten free use 6 tsp of Arrowroot Starch instead of the flour. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Good recipe... I added more vegetable to my stew. And it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States