Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
I used this recipe several times last year. It is easy to substitute ingredients if need be and is a hearty evening meal when served with a fresh green salad and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
We just purchased a slow cooker so I wanted to experiment with different stews and selected this recipe. The results were amazing. I reduced the beef broth amount to 1 cup, threw in everything, except the sour cream and flour, in the morning before work. Then when I got home, I made a 'roux' with the sour cream and flour and then tossed it in to the stew. My husband has ranked this stew as one of his all-time favourite dishes! A word of caution about parsnips. If you've never had them, they are highly flavoured and definitely influence the overall taste of the stew. If you like them, you'll love the stew as written. If you don't, just take them out and add more of the other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
What an awesome combination of flavors! My family went crazy over it...fighting for the last serving! I have now even added carrots and turnips to the pot. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was wonderful. I did add 1 additional cup broth per 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I really liked this stew. I used more butternut squash than suggested, but I think that only added to the recipe. I actually cooked this in a crock-pot for 6 hours. Just before serving, I added the sour cream mixture. The lamb was extremely tender. Don't bother "peeling" the butternut squash with a peeler - it doesn't work well. I just used a paring knife and cut it up into segments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I've never cooked lamb before and I did make a few errors when making this. My husband did say that it tasted like the lamb stew he had at a restaurant the previous week - so that is a good sign that it's a good recipe. I would like to try the recipe with beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Good recipe... I added more vegetable to my stew. And it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I used beef instead of lamb. It was good. I'd never had parsnips before or butternut squash so this was really new to me. I also had a lot of leftover veggies I didn't use so, I chopped them up and blanched them for 3 min. Then measured out the required amounts for the recipe and put it all in a Ziplock bag and froze it. Now all I have to do next time is drop in the contents of the bag and there will be no peeling or chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was yummy! My family doesn't like squash or sweet potatoes but they really liked this recipe. It was a nice change from our usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Love lamb stew, and this is a great variation. I had just started a traditional carrot-onion-potato stew when I decided to switch. 2.5 lb cubed lamb browned in flour and pepper,beef broth, bay leaves and thyme - one yukon gold potato, a small portobello mushroom, handful of baby carrots and pearl onions, then added half a leftover baked sweet potato, a large parsnip, a cup of diced butternut -- baked in a covered casserole 2-3 hours. The house smells heavenly, tastes wonderful, and it'll be even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States