Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
One winner of a recipe Brandy! This powerhouse of nutrition was a huge hit with my family. In addition to the vegetables stated, I added a turnip, kale, red potatoes, leeks and carrots. I also threw in some fresh chopped parsley and dill. Comfort food to the max and a great way to use up leftover lamb. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Absolutely yummy. I've been eating this all week (I used some leg of lamb I had already cooked). I add the sour cream to each serving, rather than put it all in earlier. And I used celery root rather than actual celery because I had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Love lamb stew, and this is a great variation. I had just started a traditional carrot-onion-potato stew when I decided to switch. 2.5 lb cubed lamb browned in flour and pepper,beef broth, bay leaves and thyme - one yukon gold potato, a small portobello mushroom, handful of baby carrots and pearl onions, then added half a leftover baked sweet potato, a large parsnip, a cup of diced butternut -- baked in a covered casserole 2-3 hours. The house smells heavenly, tastes wonderful, and it'll be even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was yummy! My family doesn't like squash or sweet potatoes but they really liked this recipe. It was a nice change from our usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I used beef instead of lamb. It was good. I'd never had parsnips before or butternut squash so this was really new to me. I also had a lot of leftover veggies I didn't use so, I chopped them up and blanched them for 3 min. Then measured out the required amounts for the recipe and put it all in a Ziplock bag and froze it. Now all I have to do next time is drop in the contents of the bag and there will be no peeling or chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Good recipe... I added more vegetable to my stew. And it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I've never cooked lamb before and I did make a few errors when making this. My husband did say that it tasted like the lamb stew he had at a restaurant the previous week - so that is a good sign that it's a good recipe. I would like to try the recipe with beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I really liked this stew. I used more butternut squash than suggested, but I think that only added to the recipe. I actually cooked this in a crock-pot for 6 hours. Just before serving, I added the sour cream mixture. The lamb was extremely tender. Don't bother "peeling" the butternut squash with a peeler - it doesn't work well. I just used a paring knife and cut it up into segments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was wonderful. I did add 1 additional cup broth per 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
What an awesome combination of flavors! My family went crazy over it...fighting for the last serving! I have now even added carrots and turnips to the pot. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States