Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This recipe requires quite a bit of prep work and is time consuming but it is definitely worth the effort. The tastes blend perfectly together. I made it exactly as directed and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I was very surprised at howw good this was, even if I didn't make it precisely to directions. I used stew beef instead of lamb, which is hard to find here. I also forgot to temper the sour cream mixture. But it was very good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This is scrumptious on a cold winter evening!! I used beef instead of lamb, an extra sweet potato to replace the butternut squash, added a bag of baby spinach, and used low fat sour cream. The veggies give a wonderful taste (don't skip the parsnips -- they have a unique flavor). Thanks for a great recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
One winner of a recipe Brandy! This powerhouse of nutrition was a huge hit with my family. In addition to the vegetables stated, I added a turnip, kale, red potatoes, leeks and carrots. I also threw in some fresh chopped parsley and dill. Comfort food to the max and a great way to use up leftover lamb. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Absolutely yummy. I've been eating this all week (I used some leg of lamb I had already cooked). I add the sour cream to each serving, rather than put it all in earlier. And I used celery root rather than actual celery because I had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Love lamb stew, and this is a great variation. I had just started a traditional carrot-onion-potato stew when I decided to switch. 2.5 lb cubed lamb browned in flour and pepper,beef broth, bay leaves and thyme - one yukon gold potato, a small portobello mushroom, handful of baby carrots and pearl onions, then added half a leftover baked sweet potato, a large parsnip, a cup of diced butternut -- baked in a covered casserole 2-3 hours. The house smells heavenly, tastes wonderful, and it'll be even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was yummy! My family doesn't like squash or sweet potatoes but they really liked this recipe. It was a nice change from our usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I used beef instead of lamb. It was good. I'd never had parsnips before or butternut squash so this was really new to me. I also had a lot of leftover veggies I didn't use so, I chopped them up and blanched them for 3 min. Then measured out the required amounts for the recipe and put it all in a Ziplock bag and froze it. Now all I have to do next time is drop in the contents of the bag and there will be no peeling or chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Good recipe... I added more vegetable to my stew. And it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I've never cooked lamb before and I did make a few errors when making this. My husband did say that it tasted like the lamb stew he had at a restaurant the previous week - so that is a good sign that it's a good recipe. I would like to try the recipe with beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States