Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I like this recipe alot, although I found it was verbatim from my Soups and Stews book from Williams Sonoma. I used lamb shoulder since my market did not have lamb cubed for stewing. I would reduce the cook time to about 25 min because alot of the squash/potato got a bit too soft. I also served it over rice to use up all the excellent goopiness it makes! Everyone thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
It was really good, but not fantastic and there's just too much prep work for it not to be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I actually got my husband to eat butternut squash and parsnips!?!?! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Perfect just as written, add a loaf of sourdough bread, a cold and rainy night and a glass of your favorite red. Makes for a terrific evening. Thanx for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry ny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Tasty and filling. Did in crockpot. Forgot to add butternut but i roasted it and threw it in later. The parsnips and squash were so good with lamb. I thought the sour cream would be strange but it was really good. I added some curry powder out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
So good! I am vegetarian so I took out the meat, and left out the parsnips. Even without the richness of meat, this was absolutely delicious. I also put in a little less red wine, as I was worried it would taste too strong. It was thick, hearty and had a great flavour. We ate it in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I don't normally like winter vegetables (who decided on the name "parsnip?" It just doesn't sound edible) and my husband and son won't usually touch them; but this recipe was a hit with the whole family. I left out the lamb and served it with homemade dark wheat bread. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Delicious! Very filling, with an interesting flavor. I used carrots instead of parsnips, and it still tasted wonderful. I served it with baked sweet potatos on the side. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
An excellent lamb stew with lots of different flavors. Sweet, earthy, smooth and creamy. I prefer mine with more fresh ground pepper. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe! Make it gluten free use 6 tsp of Arrowroot Starch instead of the flour. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Oh my gosh this was so tasty! Although I did tweak it a little to suit my personal taste. I'm not a big wine fan so reduced it by half and incresed the broth to make up for it. Not a hug celery fan either so I reduced that by half too. The sour cream = brilliant! This dish is so great it'll be a regular this winter! Added some biscuits on the side for a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUINNY2706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States