Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I made this as a side for our Easter meal and the entire family, all 26 of them, loved it. It was the hit of the Easter meal! I've made it afterwards and everyone enjoys it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is so good -- we've had it twice in the last week because it's so good and I bought enough veggies to make two batches. I had to use beef instead of lamb, but it was still great. I substituted acorn sqaush for butternut b/c our grocery store only had monster-sized butternuts. My only recommendation is to increase the salt, pepper, and garlic. I probably doubled all three. I'm disappointed we found this receipe so late in the winter b/c I know I'll be craving it this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Good basic recipe. Because of what I had on hand, I only used squash, celery, potatoes and onions. I also omitted the sour cream because we are dairy-free. It was a nice hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
The only thing I had to change was to double the liquids. My house smelled soo good and I couldn't wait for dinner time. A real comfort meal and 2 hours later I'm still quite satiated! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Sorry....this didn't do much for us. Actually doubled the recipe because of all the great ratings. Ended up putting in extra spices...salt pepper, paprika and more thyme to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Don't slice the onions, chop them! Mine turned out hard and not good. Maybe I did something wrong? I hadn't had parsnips before, I don't love them just a personal preference. Other than that the stew was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinperrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was a wonderful stew, and the only things to complain about were things I did differently from the recipe and even so, It was great. Because it was to be the "quick supper before Christmas Eve services," I braised the lamb in advance, then dumped the veggies and broth and wine with the lamb into the slow cooker for an hour on high then on low for 5 hours. The butternut squash disintegrated entirely, but really richened the gravy -- I think next time I'll add the squash later on in the cooking. Also, I don't like sweet potatoes, so I used red-skinned potatoes instead, and used turnips instead of parsnips. It was lovely. I served it with a green salad and angel biscuits and a lightish red wine -- perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
We substituted venison for the lamb, and this was amazingly good. My nine-year-old daughter who hates sweet potatoes and butternut squash was the first one to clean her bowl! Don't let the list of winter vegetables scare you. I myself refuse to eat sweet potatoes, but I HAD to have seconds. We served this to my parents for a Christmas dinner, and there were no leftovers. This will go on our favorites list, and we will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
that sour cream makes this dish. great on day 2 as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I like this recipe alot, although I found it was verbatim from my Soups and Stews book from Williams Sonoma. I used lamb shoulder since my market did not have lamb cubed for stewing. I would reduce the cook time to about 25 min because alot of the squash/potato got a bit too soft. I also served it over rice to use up all the excellent goopiness it makes! Everyone thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States