Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was good recipe my lamb fell right apart, But this recipe had really no flavor I had to season when it was done. I will cook again and tweak the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is a really solid recipe. Interestingly the strength of it comes from the sour cream and sugar in the vegetables, not from any spices or procedure. I substituted a dark beer for the red wine, turkey broth for beef, added some carrots and fresh parsley. This is a hearty and good-for-you meal, very tasty, but I think it could have used a little bit more character in terms of spicing. Since I don't cook with lamb very much (ever) I'm not positive what it needs. Maybe some rosemary or spritz of dill?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I LOVED this stew but my husband thought it was "OK" so I took off one star. I used beef since my grocery store had no lamb except an entire $40 leg. I doubles the recipe since you can't really get 1 cup of parsnips and 1 sweet potato is about double and same with a small butternut squash. Thought this was great and fairly healthy too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Excellent lamb stew! I made this using the leftovers from a roast leg of lamb. I used what was on hand - carrots instead of parsnips, leftover roast potatoes instead of squash, a few extra bits of sweet potato to make up for lack of volume in the veggie department... it turned out FABULOUSLY! Served over couscous, it was just to die for. So, in addition to being a tasty and satisfying dish, I'd say this also qualifies as an extremely forgiving recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Goolsby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This stew was fantastic. The sour cream really added a nice smoothness and flavor. The winter veggies are also a little bit different from the traditional carrots and potatoes. All together, a wonderful addition to my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I was so surprised by this recipe. I rememer when my parents would cook squash when I was a kid and the smell alone would bring on nausea. But I felt a leading to this and decided to try. I am sooooooo glad I did. I can't believe how good this is. Even my husband, who thinks he hates squash, liked it. I didn't have celery, so I added carrots and used celery salt in place of the salt. The only things I will do differently the next time I make this, is add more meat for my "I'm a man, I need meat" husband and shorten the cooking time after I add the veggies. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 ft. Cutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Great slow cooker recipe, I altered it in the following ways; Added: 1/2 medium yam (cubed) and 1/2 medium acorn squash (cubed) as well as did a total of 4 cups beef base. Came out absolutely delicious after 9 hours on low (all of the vegetables tender as can be)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Wow, does this make the house smell good! Used lamb shoulder chops....removed the meat and cut into pieces but also added the bones to broth as it simmered and removed later. I also added an extra clove of garlic and extra vegetables. Comfort food at it's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent! Even my 2 year old ate an entire bowl. My anti-vegetable-husband would've liked it even more if he hadn't witnessed me cutting up the squash. I used venison and did double the broth. I also added a couple cubes of beef boullion. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
It was very tasty! Hubby said he never had a stew which tastes that good. I cooked it according to the instructions, and didn't change anything. I didn't have red wine though, so I diluted 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar in 3/4 of water - tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States