Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Excellent tasty stew, the lamb was moist and the broth was incredibly flavourful. I used regular potatoes instead of sweet potatoes, because you will see that the veggies already make it quite sweet. The parsnips were perfect. I skipped the flour because it was already quite thick, and skipped the sour cream for personal preference, but my guests still rave about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Turned out great. Really enjoy the versatility of this recipe. Grocery store did not have butternut so I substituted some orange acorn squash. I also skipped the salt since the beef broth already had plenty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Outfreakinstanding. New favorite lamb stew. Oh my. Just a few tips... Shouldn't need additional oil for the lamb. Remove the lamb and use that oil to saute the carrot or parsnip (make sure it 's peeled), onion, and celery, then add the garlic. Remove any excess oil at this time. Add the spices and lamb meat back in, turn the heat up to high, add the wine for a minute or so (I'd recommend adding half again as much - 1/2 c extra), then add the stock. There's really no need to wait to add the other vegetables, but you can if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great recipe - I substituted potatoes for sweet potatoes because that's what I had and did add extra broth because it looked like it needed it -- but once it was done I think it would have been fine with the original amount. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
AMAZING!! My family loves lamb, but we have a hard time getting them to eat veggies.......not any more. One son gobbled two helpings and the other finished everything on his first. Mission possible and my new fav stew recipe. I sauted the onion and celery with the meat after about 5 minues, doubled the recipe and tripled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
We love stews and usually stick to traditional hearty beef/venison stews. We got take the leftover lamb home from passover though and I decided to find something new. BOY THIS WAS YUMMY!!! Perhaps it helped that the lamb was superbly roasted. As far as i know, it was roasted with garlic and cloves, probably some other stuff too so there was extra flavor in ours. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Bland! Required additional seasoning. The lamb was definitely tender, but there was too much Butternut Squash for my own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was good recipe my lamb fell right apart, But this recipe had really no flavor I had to season when it was done. I will cook again and tweak the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is a really solid recipe. Interestingly the strength of it comes from the sour cream and sugar in the vegetables, not from any spices or procedure. I substituted a dark beer for the red wine, turkey broth for beef, added some carrots and fresh parsley. This is a hearty and good-for-you meal, very tasty, but I think it could have used a little bit more character in terms of spicing. Since I don't cook with lamb very much (ever) I'm not positive what it needs. Maybe some rosemary or spritz of dill?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I LOVED this stew but my husband thought it was "OK" so I took off one star. I used beef since my grocery store had no lamb except an entire $40 leg. I doubles the recipe since you can't really get 1 cup of parsnips and 1 sweet potato is about double and same with a small butternut squash. Thought this was great and fairly healthy too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States