Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This is declicous but WAY better even if you make it a day ahead and let it marinate overnight. Everyone I served it to has raved about it and one of my guests gave some serious hints about me sharing my leftovers. I added extra garlic and onion and also ground some rosemary and added that , too, about the same amount as the thyme. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEHEM513

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesburg, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Changed the servings to 6 and was a little dry so added another cup of broth and came out very tasty indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I omitted the bnut squash, and used a combination of sweet and regular potatoes. I simmered the meat mixture for about 45mins, which was perfect. Served it with warm crusty bread and the rest of the red wine. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Excellent tasty stew, the lamb was moist and the broth was incredibly flavourful. I used regular potatoes instead of sweet potatoes, because you will see that the veggies already make it quite sweet. The parsnips were perfect. I skipped the flour because it was already quite thick, and skipped the sour cream for personal preference, but my guests still rave about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Turned out great. Really enjoy the versatility of this recipe. Grocery store did not have butternut so I substituted some orange acorn squash. I also skipped the salt since the beef broth already had plenty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Outfreakinstanding. New favorite lamb stew. Oh my. Just a few tips... Shouldn't need additional oil for the lamb. Remove the lamb and use that oil to saute the carrot or parsnip (make sure it 's peeled), onion, and celery, then add the garlic. Remove any excess oil at this time. Add the spices and lamb meat back in, turn the heat up to high, add the wine for a minute or so (I'd recommend adding half again as much - 1/2 c extra), then add the stock. There's really no need to wait to add the other vegetables, but you can if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great recipe - I substituted potatoes for sweet potatoes because that's what I had and did add extra broth because it looked like it needed it -- but once it was done I think it would have been fine with the original amount. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
AMAZING!! My family loves lamb, but we have a hard time getting them to eat veggies.......not any more. One son gobbled two helpings and the other finished everything on his first. Mission possible and my new fav stew recipe. I sauted the onion and celery with the meat after about 5 minues, doubled the recipe and tripled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
We love stews and usually stick to traditional hearty beef/venison stews. We got take the leftover lamb home from passover though and I decided to find something new. BOY THIS WAS YUMMY!!! Perhaps it helped that the lamb was superbly roasted. As far as i know, it was roasted with garlic and cloves, probably some other stuff too so there was extra flavor in ours. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Bland! Required additional seasoning. The lamb was definitely tender, but there was too much Butternut Squash for my own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States