Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe precisely, except that I accidentally put in carrots (what, no carrots in this recipe?), about a cup chopped. I also doubled the liquid because it seemed like there wasn't nearly enough liquid for the vegetable to cook (perhaps I simmered it too long before adding the veggies). I used low sodium broth, because as it reduces, it can get pretty salty otherwise. I used the pre-cut/trimmed lamb shoulder, which totally made this stew. I'm sure it would be good with beef, too, but lamb makes it something special instead of just a beef stew. The lamb was so tender that it seemed to just melt in your mouth. Next time I may add some chopped fresh rosemary, too. This is delicious, and alongside a rustic, crusty bread and a good salad, this is worthy of company. To save time, see if your grocery store carries pre-cut butternut squash. In season, our store has it, and it's worth the extra $ because cutting and peeling raw butternut squash is a you-know-what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Lynn Dalton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My husband does not care for sweet vegetables, but I decided to give this recipe a try because I had a big butternut squash I needed to use up. After reading other reviews which suggested different root vegetables could be used, I replaced sweet potatoes with yukon gold potatoes, and replaced parsnips with turnip. I also doubled the recipe. Did not turn out well! Had to add a lot more liquid (3 extra cups) to cover the vegetables. When I added the sour cream/flour mixture, it created lumps in the broth, even though I added diluted it with broth as instructed. Had to use a straining spoon to pick out the meat and larger pieces of vegetable and then poured the broth through a strainer to get out the lumps. Veggies had overcooked and broken down, so ended up straining some of them out as well. Would not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
What a great stew to make. The kids ate all of it. Dipped hard crusted dense bread into it an it was yummy. There was this slight bitter taste which I'm thinking may have been the wine used, next time I'll try a different one. Kids didn't even know I used lamb until after the compliments went around the table. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalMarisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I absolutely love this stew! I had to use beef instead of lamb because of what was available, but followed everything else to exactly, except for adding a little fresh dill. As others have mentioned, some of the butternut squash breaks down to create an even richer broth, which is lovely, but the texture of the other ingredients and the balance between sweet and savory overall is what has got me hooked. The way your kitchen smells while it's bubbling is a serious bonus as well -- the kind of left-overs I will happily live off of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Good, sweet-flavored stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
A very good winter stew for a Canadian February night. Here are vegetable proportions by the veggie, not by the cup, for ease of shopping and chopping: 1 small butternut squash, 2 medium parsnips; one medium sweet potato, and 2 large stalks celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This stew taste a little sweet, but absolutly love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAX8144

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this a day ahead for a casual dinner party, doubled recipe. I dredged the meat (plus bones) in flour, s&p before searing. Removed meat, reserved remaining fat, deglazed with 1/2 c. red wine. Sauteed onion, parsnips celery and herbs in reserved fat, adding garlic for last 2 minutes. When veggies were tender,returned meat, bones and any juices to pot. Added 4 c. broth, 3 c. wine and boil to cook off alcohol. Added squash, omitted sweet potatoes, doubled white potatoes. Brought to boil, simmered @ 1 1/2 hrs. Served it the next evening -- no leftovers. Didn't need any extra flour or sour cream. Yum. This is a pretty rich, slightly sweet stew. Glad I left out the sweet potatoes! Served arugula, endive and radicchio salad with lemon/olive oil dressing and crusty bread. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is a fantastic stew. I feel almost cheap rating it because I didn't even use the correct meat (I used beef), but I'm sure it would be even better with lamb. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding more veggies (carrots, red potatoes) in addition to those listed, and increased the liquid slightly because of the addition, although I wouldn't do that next time. Even my picky toddler devoured every bite! Thank you for a great winter stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Very good made with venison instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States