Lamb and Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Awesome. There are only two of us and we ate these for three days in a row. Few modifications I made. First, I used red rice. Second, I had some Campbell's tomato juice cans and it worked out fine. Third, I added in a dew additional spices I thought would go well into the mix ( personal preference ). Finally, the review that suggested the microwave for the cabbage leaves was awesome. Put the cabbage in a small casserole and added enough water to cover the bottom with about a quarter inch of water. Scored and stabbed into the core of the cabbage. 2 minutes at a time and the leaves came of intact. I didn't burn off my fingers as happens when I boil the cabbage and water gets trapped between the leaves. Nothing like unexpected scalding to put you off enjoying dinner. Finally, used the cooking liquid to create a thicker sauce to drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Could if I could give this recipe a full 10 stars! It was just the best stuffed cabbage rolls we have eaten - my only change was to use diced tomatoes instead of sauce. I have it on the menu now for a once a month rotation. Thanks for the great recipe, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was a really fun and tasty recipe as Chef Jon's recipes usually are. Next time I make it I would probably increase the seasonings and currant amount to make the flavours punch a bit more. Was good but a touch bland. Feta was really good on top, as well as sour creme, depending on your personal preference. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Wonderful taste. I opt out almond and currant, still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Incredible. Love lamb. What is not to love with a $1 cabbage and oooops $6.99/lb ground lamb. Absolutely delicious and the aroma from the spices in the warm pan.... lovely. Yes, chef, to put the spice in the oil is correct!!! Fat does distribute that through the meat more than actually putting it on the meat. I used 'Jasmine' rice, the only ingredient I changed. Absolute nirvanna with a stuffed cabbage. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Wow never thought I'd love cabbage. Had a great deal on the ingredients so thought I'd try it out. Smelled great from the start. Made it pretty close to the recipe..though my tomatoe puree was a mix of veggies and tomatoes I had canned previously. Tomorrow I'll be prepping several for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
It was better when I used uncooked rice as opposed to already cooked rice but amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Another fantastic Chef John recipe!! Made as is, except forgot the bay leaves. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I tried this and the flavor was good but the rice was not properly cooked. It was still hard and crunchy. Maybe it's because I didn't notice I should let it rest for 30 minutes after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
What a hit with the family! Absolutely love this recipe. I put basil in instead of oregano and used one 8 oz can of tomato sauce not puree. Also omitted the almonds and currants....but no matter if you follow it perfectly or make a few changes...it is delish! Put it in the oven and went on my merry way for an hour and a half...carb, protein and veggie all in one:) Served with green beans and rosemary garlic fresh baked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Taylor

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States