Lamb and Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Wonderful taste. I opt out almond and currant, still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
It was better when I used uncooked rice as opposed to already cooked rice but amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Another fantastic Chef John recipe!! Made as is, except forgot the bay leaves. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Wow never thought I'd love cabbage. Had a great deal on the ingredients so thought I'd try it out. Smelled great from the start. Made it pretty close to the recipe..though my tomatoe puree was a mix of veggies and tomatoes I had canned previously. Tomorrow I'll be prepping several for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
What a hit with the family! Absolutely love this recipe. I put basil in instead of oregano and used one 8 oz can of tomato sauce not puree. Also omitted the almonds and currants....but no matter if you follow it perfectly or make a few changes...it is delish! Put it in the oven and went on my merry way for an hour and a half...carb, protein and veggie all in one:) Served with green beans and rosemary garlic fresh baked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Taylor
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Awesome. There are only two of us and we ate these for three days in a row. Few modifications I made. First, I used red rice. Second, I had some Campbell's tomato juice cans and it worked out fine. Third, I added in a dew additional spices I thought would go well into the mix ( personal preference ). Finally, the review that suggested the microwave for the cabbage leaves was awesome. Put the cabbage in a small casserole and added enough water to cover the bottom with about a quarter inch of water. Scored and stabbed into the core of the cabbage. 2 minutes at a time and the leaves came of intact. I didn't burn off my fingers as happens when I boil the cabbage and water gets trapped between the leaves. Nothing like unexpected scalding to put you off enjoying dinner. Finally, used the cooking liquid to create a thicker sauce to drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I was true to the recipe, with the exception of using raisins instead of currants. The recipe is superb -- with a Moroccan or North African twist. Its blend of lamb, spices, almonds and currants (raisins) give it a mellow, sweet, crunchy and heady flavor. This is all offset by the juiciness of the cabbage roll, braised slowly in a hint of tomato puree and silky chicken broth. It was a breeze to make, using Chef John's tips for steaming the cabbage to remove the leaves, plus his directions for shaping the meat into tiny loaves before stuffing and rolling the cabbage like a burrito. This recipe was unlike any other recipe on this site for stuffed cabbage and it was a joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was a hit with my family. Making it agaIn tonight for the 2nd time in a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Incredible. Love lamb. What is not to love with a $1 cabbage and oooops $6.99/lb ground lamb. Absolutely delicious and the aroma from the spices in the warm pan.... lovely. Yes, chef, to put the spice in the oil is correct!!! Fat does distribute that through the meat more than actually putting it on the meat. I used 'Jasmine' rice, the only ingredient I changed. Absolute nirvanna with a stuffed cabbage. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Could if I could give this recipe a full 10 stars! It was just the best stuffed cabbage rolls we have eaten - my only change was to use diced tomatoes instead of sauce. I have it on the menu now for a once a month rotation. Thanks for the great recipe, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States