Lahmahjoon (Armenian Pizza) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Coming from an Armenian family, I grew up on Lahmahjoon. Making this on a tortilla is definitely easier, but it tastes more authentic on flat bread, (which is much more time consuming.) I moved from CA to UT and can't find ground lamb anywhere here. I made this recipe with beef and it still tasted good, but I prefer the lamb. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but I felt the mixture of spices was pretty accurate. By the way: I love rolling Lahmahjoon up with lettuce and tomatoe in the middle. It makes a great sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I planned an “Armenian Feast” for my husband whose family is Armenian. Not only was this recipe simple and easy, it was absolutely delicious. My grocery store doesn’t carry ground lamb, so I bought a pair of lamb chops, cut them up, and pulsed the meat in a food processor for a couple seconds. It worked wonderfully. I used the bones to make a stock for the “Armenian Lentils” recipe also found on this site. I debated on making some flatbread from scratch, but opted instead for whole wheat tortillas. The tortillas were on the small side, so it worked best when we just folded them over like a taco as opposed to stacking them and slicing like a pizza. The hubby was very impressed; and my children, ages 7, 3, and 2 asked if I would make this for dinner every night. That’s a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YELLEPHANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I have never had this on either pita or a tortilla before. My great grandmother always made it on an extremely flat bread she made from scratch- it was like a soft cracker, similar to boraghatz (spelling?). She also used the ground lamb sparingly, so it was less condensed and more smattered in the sauce. I am still searching for the cracker-bread recipie, though, and will update if I find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Terrific, just terrific. My wife is somewhat finicky, and she ended up eating two of the four made. I followed this straight through. I might up the garlic next time, but... Well... If I were still cooking professionally, this would be a menu item- appetizer and meal version with a light salad. And I guarantee it would sell. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Gray

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Tasty and easy! I combined this with a couple of other recipes for Lahmahjoon adding chopped shallots in place of the bell pepper, toasted pine nuts and most important of all, 1/8 tsp of ground allspice. The smell when these were cooking reminded me of my favorite Jordanian restaurant in Tucson, divine. We rolled these up with chopped parsley, cukes, tomatoes and a hefty dollop of baba ghanouj (recipe on this site!). Thanks for the excellent and economical meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This recipe is realy fabulous with the additions I've made which gives it, I believe a more authentic flavor. Used more chopped peppers (red and green), cause I had them & needed to use them up. Instead of the parsley, used 1 full bunch of cilantro finely chopped. Added more cumin (3/4-1 tablespoon), 2 tablespoons of mint. 1 lb pizza dough, cut in 4 equal pieces (used more dough, cause makes more then 4 Lahmahjoon). Sauted the onions with peppers until golden, then added the garlic (oh yeah, 1-2 T). Once vegies were cooked to release their flavor, added the pre-cooked ground lamb. Please add salt and pepper to taste, without it, it will be blah. brush olive oil lightly over the doug. Spread the meat thinly over each pizza. Once baked, sprinkle some lemon juice over the top. Yummy in our tummies is what my family experienced. My husband is Armenian and he couldn't stop eating it & remarked on how close it is to an Armenian store which we've bought these from located in Watertown, MA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I had been craving this for awhile and decided to make it since we have moved far away from our usual Turkish restaurant that serves it....the ground lamb I bought didn't seem to be ground enough so next time I'll process it further so the end result is more like a paste and not too chunky. I think my husband is still yearning our regular restaurant style Lahmahjoon so I found it hard to make a good rival for it at home unfortunately. Can't blame a girl for trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
It actually tasted like the chimichanga meat, which I was a little disappointed in. I had expected something different...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I decided to try this recipe after it was featured on the front of allrecipes. I can't recall if I have ever tried Lamahjoon before, but the recipe looked easy and quick to make. As suggested by the recipe, I made the filling the day before to let the flavors blend, and I think this does make a difference. I used ground beef instead of ground lamb, because im not a fan of lamb. I also used dried mint leaves crushed, it was what I had. And used yellow bell pepper instead, but i think it gave it a nice sweetness. This came out pretty good and I liked how the pita was pefectly crispy, sadly it`s not great to bring as a lunch to work. The pita gets a bit mushy. My fiancee liked it and I think i'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I loved this! So delicious. Had to sub turkey for the lamb, and I accidently used tomato sauce instead of paste. Still, it turned out excellent. Bf's only complaint was that the bread was too crispy--wanted it softer. I may have contributed to that, though, bc I used Indian Chapati Bread that I had made from a recipe, and I made the bread small. So maybe less time in the oven or just heat separately, and bf will be happy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States