Lahmacun Turkish Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I just took the dough because I don't like lamb and makes great pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very authentic recipe and well worth the effort. I omitted the basil and didn't make the garlic sauce as I think it would take away from the flavor of the lahmacun. I provide plenty of lemon wedges when served to squeeze generously on top and it makes the flavor perfect. I also only cut the dough into 4 pieces and rolled out into large size pides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melistan
Home Town: Dalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bishkek, Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Really awesome recipe! Tasted like it was supposed to. My pizzas were very crispy but my husband said he actually liked it better that way. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Very good, although I have made something very similar before and I think I preferred that recipe. It is a bit time consuming, but I'm sure it could be easily cut down in steps if you aren't worried about authenticity--for instance, it would be pretty simple to sub purchased pita bread for the bread and other sauces could be used. The dough is somewhat dry, so it could probably stand an extra tablespoon or so of water, but it was definitely workable as is. I wasn't really a fan of eating this as a sandwich--at least as a fresh made pizza, it's rather difficult to fold it up. I think I prefer it as a personal pizza and I think I'd prefer to leave off the cabbage, but I'm not a cabbage fan. Otherwise, this is pretty good. I love mint with meat and tomato sauces. Hubs wasn't as convinced but he was okay with it. I don't actually think this is a light meal--I'm stuffed after eating one for lunch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
If this had taken less time I would have given it 4 stars, but in the end, it just wasn't worth it to me. The main complication with this recipe is that, if you have a large family, you are stuck cooking the entire time while they are eating (because, at least in my oven, I could only bake 2 at a time), and are left by yourself to eat - after all those hours that you spent preparing this! The bread was delicious, and the meat filling was good. My kids all loved it, even the garlic yogurt sauce; my husband and I thought it was better than ok, but not excellent. Just my two cents! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! We didn't change a thing! The dough is awesome - just make sure you roll it out really thin! The Turkish we know used to spread out the sauce and meat separate... i might do it that way next time! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Rescue, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
As one who grew up in Istanbul and lived there for 14 years, I must say that this is an excellent recipe. Two extraneous comments on the recipe: 1) Be wary of how much tomato / tomato paste is used in the recipe as the tomato can easily overwhelm some of the more delicate tastes in sauce. 2) The garlic sauce and cabbage is more of a European addition to the lahmacun (a similar addition is made to Western European renditions of the Doner Kebap). In my experience, lahmacuns are best served with white onions (topped with sumac) and fresh parsley as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Simply fantastic! Made it for Iftar (meal to break the fast in Ramadan), and my entire family loved it (from the 6-year-old to my picky husband). Leftovers also delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Doyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Excellent dish! The only down side is the large amount time it takes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
i made it for my husband, who was stationed in Turkey and he loved it, thank you for sharing this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States