Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
i tried this and the batter was like cake batter it was a disaster i let it sit in the fridge to long but i had a reall good time making the batter ill try again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
A bit like a toughened sponge cake. When I did it in the coffee to make tiramisu it got soaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made these lady fingers for a tiramisu recipe, but unfortunately they did not puff up as they should have. It was almost hard and cookie like, and was very disappointing. however, they did make some spongy cookies which were actually quite good, but I cannot recommend this recipe if you would like ladyfingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
They were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
it taste yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Fantastic and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
instead of pipping them out i baked it like a cake. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I needed ladyfingers for 60 individual servings of tiramisu for a church youth group fundraiser. Store-bought ladyfingers are SO expensive, so I gave this recipe a try. The flavor of these is phenomenal and the texture is light and spongy, just like ladyfingers should be. The only problem I had with the recipe was that mine barely puffed up at all and they spread quite a bit. Since I had piped them into circles just a bit smaller than I needed for them to fit in the parfait cups I was using, the spreading caused a bit of an issue with the cakes fitting into the cups. I was able to squish them down in and the presentation still looked nice, but it made the assembly of the desserts take a bit longer than planned. I'd like to try this recipe again, perhaps increasing the baking powder a bit and also chilling the batter before piping it onto the baking sheet. The only other issue I had was that the cakes stuck badly to my Silpat mats, so next time I'll definitely use parchment paper instead like the directions say to do. I used these with the custard/mascarpone mixture from Tiramisu II here at AllRecipes (using Mascarpone Substitute instead of real mascarpone to save even more money).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I wanted to make Marty Fries' Triamisu Cheesecake from this site and every time I go to the store they have lady fingers...EXCEPT this time. Just made them, today, and if I'd known how simple they were to make I wouldn't have stressed over not finding store bought ones. I whipped my egg whites in my kitchenaid and beat the egg yolk mixture by hand. Super simple and they didn't spread very much but puffed beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakinMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plattsmouth, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Wow! This was simple and they came out perfect for use with my Tiramisu recipe. Next time, I'll try some minor alterations as others suggested (adding vanilla or cocoa powder). I snipped the corner of a 1 gallon ziplock storage bag and used that instead of a pastry bag - it worked great! Let cool before removing from the parchment paper (I don't bake much...) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States