Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made these and did not puff up as much but it was a humid day. I added 2 Tbs of Swiss Mocha Cappuccino Mix and it gave it real good flavor. I used a pastry bag and 1/2" tip like recommended and turned out very well. They spread out, but worked out very well for the Berry Tiramisu I made for my sisters birthday. Everyone really enjoyed it! I will save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Needed these for a tiramisu, and they were very easy to whip up. 7/8 cup flour is 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons. I must confess that I overwhipped my egg whites a tad past the stiff-peak phase (was multi-tasking and checked them a moment too late), but the recipe still worked great. Be generous when you're piping them out; they will almost double in size but not quite. I'd like to use the cookie cutter trick next time for more uniformly-shaped cookies. Texturally these are nice and light, not rubbery. If you were to eat them alone (not in a tiramisu) they would be a little lacking in flavor; I'd suggest adding a bit of vanilla and a pinch of salt if that is the case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I too had issues with my piping spreading before the cookies baked, so I tried the pan approach. Grease your loaf pan and spread out the batter. It bakes up into a cakey, puffy loaf, which looks just fine sliced into cookie-sized portions. In an attempt at an eggnog-gingerbread tiramisu, I replaced the white sugar (save the 2T for the whites) with brown sugar, and added 1T ginger, 1t cinnamon, and a dash of cloves and nutmeg to the dry ingredients. They still baked up well and lent the touch of holiday flavor we needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
You do not need the baking powder in the recipe, the egg white if properly whipped and lightly folded will do the leavening. I also sprinkle powdered sugar over the ladyfinger before baking to create a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exczech

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Easy recipe. Taste was just ok; kind of bland. But I'm using it for Tiramisu, so the coffee and rum will add taste. I wasn't really sure if I needed the parchment paper lining. I tried with and without; definitely better with, otherwise it sticks to the sheet too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
A great recipe! they taste exactly like store bought lady fingers. i didn't have a pastry bag so i just put spoon fulls of the dough on the pan, so the shape is not perfect but its great for being in a tiramisu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Easy, Quick and turned out great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bella Coola, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Perfect and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintypaper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Perfect! I couldn't find lady fingers anywhere in the grocery stores. Discontinued!! I needed a layer of lady fingers for a plum cake and just spread the mixture on a 12 inch pizza pan. It was perfect and did the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby1781

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Everyone is raving about these Ladyfingers, so they must be good and it must be me doing something wrong. I only got 32 fingers and they came out flat and not raised at all. I had ice under my bowl of egg whites while I worked with them so they wouldn't get warm in my hot kitchen. Can anyone tell me what I might have done wrong? Do you think I beat the egg whites too long and took too much time folding in the flours, please help, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States