Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
These cookies were a bit of a pain to make, but they are light and airy — perfect ladyfingers. We made them for tiramisu and they worked well in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I just completed this recipe because I needed some ladyfingers for an icebox cake (so I didn't care what they looked like) and didn't want to travel out again for them. It came out perfect, and I made them on a hot humid day. To start, I used 5 separated eggs. I used a bit extra baking powder and added in maybe 1 tsp vanilla. I put parchment on the bottoms of 3 identical 10 inch aluminum cake pans. I had enough batter for 2 complete cakes and maybe 2/3 of the third pan. I baked them in a 400 deg. oven for about 9 minutes. They puffed up beautifully. I made sure my egg yolks were thoroughly blended with the sugar, and I went beyond stiff peaks...the egg whites were so stiff they almost looked dry. I put the batter in the fridge while prepping the pans and warming the oven. I need them in 2 days to assemble the icebox cake. I hope they make it that long because they are truly delicious and I'm trying not to eat them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I followed this recipe as written and thought my ladyfingers turned out perfectly. I used just a "coupler" in a zipper bag for my half inch piping. Piped them on parchment paper and everything happened just as expected. Eight min. yields a golden sponge-cake. Ten minutes made them a little less delicate which is what I think I want for my tiramisu. Beat your whites and yolks according to directions and fold (don't mix or beat) the two together and there's really no reason you would have a problem. May add some vanilla next batch. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Langner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I spread it out on a stoneware cookie sheet, and it worked out perfectly! The batter was delightfully thick, and held its shape well. I was worried after reading several reviews about thin batter and spreading, but after making them this time, I would definitely pipe them into fingers next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamelvin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I just ruined a whole batch bc it was so dry from that much flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I've tried this recipe twice to make tiramisu. The first time was a huge fail; the ladyfingers didn't rise at all! The 2nd time was better, but too much effort for mediocre stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ze Young Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This turned out better than I thought! I need to work on my piping skills and they got bigger than I thought they would, so I didn't get anywhere near 3 dozen, but I am very pleased. I took the advise of some reviewers and chilled the batter a bit prior to baking. No more expensive store bought frozen lady fingers for my tiramisu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I had some difficulty with these but they tasted good and went well in my tiramisu. When I pipped them out they baked flat and sticky so my solution was to bake them in 3/4 filled mini muffin cups for about 7 minutes. This resulted in fluffy and texturally accurate lady "fingers."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamabaker
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Pretty good. As another reviewer noted, i added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (i noticed most lady finger recipes call for vanilla). I baked for 7 minutes. And i did not have a problem with the batter running as some did. Maybe their egg whites weren't stiff and folded in. I also used a ziploc bag to pipe the batter and it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I added a dash of baking powder and vanilla, as recommended by other reviewers, and I'm glad I did; they really need it. I used whole wheat pastry flour, and chilled the batter while the oven heated and I prepared the pans. I got 28 large cookies, which took about 9 minutes to bake. I can't understand why one reviewer's batter leaked out of the bag, unless she didn't whip the egg whites enough. They need to be stiff but not dry, and fold in the yolk mixture and flour ever so gently! Chilling for 15 minutes seemed to firm up the batter and make them hold their shape in the oven - they didn't run much at all. After removing them from the parchment to a rack, I put the rack back in the mostly cooled oven and let them really dry and crisp up, because I'm planning tiramisu. Thanks, Roxanne, for a simple easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States