Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This recipe was fine, but I would've liked for the ladyfingers to rise more instead of spread out. They ended up only a little thicker than sugar cookies. It made 42 ladyfingers, enough for the tiramisu cheesecake on this website. Half I let bake for only 6 minutes; they stayed soft for surrounding the cheesecake. The other half I baked for 10 minutes, turned the oven off, and let them dry out. I used those for the crust. I added a pinch of salt and a tsp. of vanilla- even though their purpose was only to be soaked with coffee. Still, I'd prefer these any day over processed ones in a package!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
i tried this and the batter was like cake batter it was a disaster i let it sit in the fridge to long but i had a reall good time making the batter ill try again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
A bit like a toughened sponge cake. When I did it in the coffee to make tiramisu it got soaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made these lady fingers for a tiramisu recipe, but unfortunately they did not puff up as they should have. It was almost hard and cookie like, and was very disappointing. however, they did make some spongy cookies which were actually quite good, but I cannot recommend this recipe if you would like ladyfingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
They were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
it taste yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Fantastic and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
instead of pipping them out i baked it like a cake. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I needed ladyfingers for 60 individual servings of tiramisu for a church youth group fundraiser. Store-bought ladyfingers are SO expensive, so I gave this recipe a try. The flavor of these is phenomenal and the texture is light and spongy, just like ladyfingers should be. The only problem I had with the recipe was that mine barely puffed up at all and they spread quite a bit. Since I had piped them into circles just a bit smaller than I needed for them to fit in the parfait cups I was using, the spreading caused a bit of an issue with the cakes fitting into the cups. I was able to squish them down in and the presentation still looked nice, but it made the assembly of the desserts take a bit longer than planned. I'd like to try this recipe again, perhaps increasing the baking powder a bit and also chilling the batter before piping it onto the baking sheet. The only other issue I had was that the cakes stuck badly to my Silpat mats, so next time I'll definitely use parchment paper instead like the directions say to do. I used these with the custard/mascarpone mixture from Tiramisu II here at AllRecipes (using Mascarpone Substitute instead of real mascarpone to save even more money).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I wanted to make Marty Fries' Triamisu Cheesecake from this site and every time I go to the store they have lady fingers...EXCEPT this time. Just made them, today, and if I'd known how simple they were to make I wouldn't have stressed over not finding store bought ones. I whipped my egg whites in my kitchenaid and beat the egg yolk mixture by hand. Super simple and they didn't spread very much but puffed beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakinMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Plattsmouth, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States