Ladyfingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Used this recipe for making Tiramisu and found it really easy and quick. I like other reviewers spread the batter on a jelly roll pan lined with parchment paper and cut to size with a pizza cutter. Also because I was pressed for time. Tip: lightly grease the pan with butter or shortening it helps the paper stay flat and does nothing to affect cooking. I made 2 batches in less than 1/2 hr. didn't think I would have enough cause I kept eating them and I was making a big dessert for a dinner party. Found them to be a little denser than the store bought but that is much better than eating and paying for air. The best compliment is when guests say OMG this is the best Tiramisu I ever had. I will be using this recipe from now on. I also make my own homemade Mascarpone cheese which helps because I don't need to take out a loan to buy it and it is so much better and not all that difficult. You can find my Tiramisu recipe as well as the Mascarpone recipe along with other cheeses that can be made at home with no special equipment or utensils at allrecipes.com/cook/grumpygrandpa. Happy cooking GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I wanted the challenge of making my own ladyfingers for tiramisu. While they turned out fine, I wouldn't bother making them again unless I couldn't find them in the supermarket. On the plus side, they were nicely shaped and browned nicely, and they tasted good. On the negative side, it was messy filling the piping bag and the batter was thin enough to drip out while doing so. They spread a bit and weren't as high as I'd have liked, in spite of chilling the batter as some others suggested. In any event, one more thing checked off on my list of things I've wanted to try making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Tried this and I like it.. . I don't like the store bought ladyfingers it's hard.. This one is like a cake just like I want it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Quick, easy, and delicious! Will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
After reading almost all reviews and also surfing endless recipes for ladyfingers and looking for readymade ladyfingers at grocery store .....I decided to try a small batch . Am glad I tried this recipe . It was very easy , quick and ladyfingers came out very nice . Had to ask my DH not to finish them as I needed them for tiramisu . Only changes I did was to sprinkle some sugar over the baking sheet , that gives it a shine and some crisp ( I read it somewhere else ) . I also did bake them a little longer as we preferred it a little more harder .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Very easy, very good. Must bake on parchment. Let cool before removing. Add a little vanilla to egg yolk mixture. Sprinkle with powdered sugar before stacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made these and did not puff up as much but it was a humid day. I added 2 Tbs of Swiss Mocha Cappuccino Mix and it gave it real good flavor. I used a pastry bag and 1/2" tip like recommended and turned out very well. They spread out, but worked out very well for the Berry Tiramisu I made for my sisters birthday. Everyone really enjoyed it! I will save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Needed these for a tiramisu, and they were very easy to whip up. 7/8 cup flour is 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons. I must confess that I overwhipped my egg whites a tad past the stiff-peak phase (was multi-tasking and checked them a moment too late), but the recipe still worked great. Be generous when you're piping them out; they will almost double in size but not quite. I'd like to use the cookie cutter trick next time for more uniformly-shaped cookies. Texturally these are nice and light, not rubbery. If you were to eat them alone (not in a tiramisu) they would be a little lacking in flavor; I'd suggest adding a bit of vanilla and a pinch of salt if that is the case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I too had issues with my piping spreading before the cookies baked, so I tried the pan approach. Grease your loaf pan and spread out the batter. It bakes up into a cakey, puffy loaf, which looks just fine sliced into cookie-sized portions. In an attempt at an eggnog-gingerbread tiramisu, I replaced the white sugar (save the 2T for the whites) with brown sugar, and added 1T ginger, 1t cinnamon, and a dash of cloves and nutmeg to the dry ingredients. They still baked up well and lent the touch of holiday flavor we needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
You do not need the baking powder in the recipe, the egg white if properly whipped and lightly folded will do the leavening. I also sprinkle powdered sugar over the ladyfinger before baking to create a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exczech

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States