Lady Lock Filling I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This filling is perfect as long as you add the sugar to the milk and flour mixture to cook, while whisking. Let cool completly then follow the rest. I will use it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Didn't have any problems with making it. Wasn't sweet enough for me and had a greasy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I followed the advice of other users and dissolved the sugar into the milk and everything came out perfectly. I used the filling in lady locks I made for a wedding and they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was very good. I used it as a filling for rolled pizelles. I read the other comments regarding prolonged mixing time to dissolve the sugar and I solved that problem. I stired the sugar into the milk and just warmed it alittle stirring constantly. That dissolves the sugar quite nicely. It is importent to cool the mixture completely before adding the flour or it will lump. Follow the rest of the recipe as it is written. I used almond flavoring and it was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I used this recipe for my lady locks last year and didn't like it very well (it lacked flavor), but I thought I'd try again. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 crisco. I was able to get the sugar crystals out. It still was not flavorful enough. I added one cup of powdered sugar to try to sweeten it up a bit. It didn't help much. I'll be looking for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I used this recipes years ago but found it much easier to put the flour and sugar in a mixing bowl, then put the rest of the ingredients on top. Let the bowl sit at room temperature for an hour, then beat until fluffy. No more worrying about sugar crystals that take forever to dissolve. If you do this when you put the cake in the oven it saves a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is pretty good, but.....it takes FOREVER to beat all the sugar crystals out. I bet I spent at least 30 minutes with my Kitchen Aid. My son relly liked it though. If I make it again I might try melt the sugar into a small amount of the criso and then add it into the rest. See if that cuts down on the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This frosting is excellent but there are a couple important tips. If the milk, flour mix is not completely cool it doesn't turn out right and if you don't whip it long enough it doesn't turn out right. Do everything correct and WOW. I have been asked for the recipe many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This was pretty good. It was taste really good on some homemade banana bread. It's real light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
I don't know if I maybe made it wrong, but a watery-like liquid seperated from the butter. Otherwise, it tasted ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States