Lady Linda's Delightful Shrimp and Scallop Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Hi, Lady Linda here with a correction of a misprint in the recipe! I use only 1 tsp each of both ginger and hot pepper flakes. My husband sometimes asks for extra spicy, but the rest of the family value our tastebuds too dearly to burn them off! lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Sure glad I tasted the scallops after cooked in the spicy sauce but before proceeding. It was horrible. I cut the red pepper flakes back to 1/4 tsp from 1 T. but it still fried my mouth. In all fairness I didn't have any Fish Sauce so used oriental Oyster sauce. Still, the flavor was totally unappealing. Threw out the scallops and sauce and used the vegis in a normal chicken stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The recipe was delicious although a bit too spicy. Next time, I would cut the pepper flakes to 1 teaspoon. I also substituted vegetable broth for all of the broths as that is all that I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Loved it but ended up increasing broth to a can. We like sauce and found the amount of liquid in the receipe was not enough. I also increased vegetables. We liked the warmth of the red pepper and did not find it overwhelming, but that is a result of the additional ingrediants. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char in NORCAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This is a good recipe, but I did use less red pepper flakes for the kids' sake!! I really like Asian food and love to find new recipes that are easy and I can cook at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulia, Texas, USA
Living In: Dumas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This recipe was too spicy and I like spicy foods. Will use 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes the next time. Did not have fish sauce so I used clam sauce. Added 1/2 cup more of chicken broth after I sauted the vegetables because I wanted more liquid so I could serve everything over rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was pretty good. I cut the red pepper flakes in half and it was still really spicy, and the ginger was a bit too overpowering for us. There wasn't much of a sauce to serve over rice or pasta, I served it over couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe turn out very good. Only I did different was I cut out the red pepper flake. Overall it turn out good for me. I substituted the fish sauce with soy and Worcestershire sauce. My kids loved it!!! That's all it matters to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keisha Gayden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made this with what I had, which was just the shrimp and no zucchini. I had canned mushrooms. It was ok. I think the marinate for the shrimp helped give it some zing. I used almost a Tablespoon of the red peppers and it wasn't hot enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States