Lady Baltimore Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
heavenly. worth the work. don't be afraid of the thermometer and such (i was) - this is so good you'll be eating spoonfuls before it touches the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
It should be noted that this recipe is for a specific cake...the Lady Baltimore Cake...which is a very light cake. It isn't necessarily for the typical cake or cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is a great merinque frosting. Very fluffy and light. I let the egg whites come to room temp before I whipped them, and after adding the syrup, I beat them for about 10 minutes. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
OMG, This is reeally GOOD! I made a Angle Food cake and I was looking for a Seven Minute Frosting,and I came upon this recipe,read the reviews,thought I would try it. It does make lot,to good to throw the left overs away,so I'm going to freeze it{don't know how that will turn out}. The recipe is really easy to make. The spreading consisitancy is real easy,not on the runny side like others I have made. The taste is really good,just the right amount of sweetness. I already saved this recipe to my recipe box and even copied the recipe out. This is a definite keeper,and I will make this from now on. Thanks so much for the awesome frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
It was OK, there's other frosting recipes I prefer. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My daughter's favorite cake is angel food with "sticky frosting" like her grandmother and aunt has always made. I have tried many, many recipes but for one reason or another they never quite made the grade (would dry out, develop a crust, etc.). This recipe is totally what I've been searching for. Used this on an angel food cake for Easter dinner and everyone loved it. This recipe does make a lot of frosting so next time I'll either halve the recipe, make 2 angel food cakes or make one cake and some kind of cupcakes to use up the leftovers. Could possibly be used for the filling in whoopie pies. Many thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I have no candy-making experience (soft-ball stage? What's that?), but found this recipe very easy. It was so simple, yet turned out better than other cooked-frostings I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Luscious. It was a little softer than I would have liked for my cupcakes, but the flavor and texture were lovely. Maybe I will whip longer next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This was a fabulous frosting. Very easy to do and made quite a bit of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I've always thought that cooked icings were more work than they're worth but this one was so easy to make I plan to use it on all my angel food cakes from now on. Replace the vanilla with flavored extracts and you can get a icing to match any cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States