LaDonna's Spaghetti with Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
This sauce was good, and two out of my three boys ate it well. It's a little bit of work to chop up all of the veggies, but it ends up being worth it. I was a little worried after putting in the tomato juice because the sauce was very watery, and I was afraid that it wouldn't cook down in time. It turned out just fine though, and the perfect consistency. Based on the number of servings that we got out of this the first meal, I would say that it leans more towards 12 servings rather than 8. Can't wait for leftovers later on in the week! Thank you for the recipe, LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
ATTENTION: Definitely a keeper sauce recipe. I intended to make this in my slow cooker in 3.5 hours on low. After 2.5 I couldn't wait anymore. The aroma had me so intrigued I sampled it; simple yet divine. I ladled some over zucchini noodles instead of spaghetti even though it hadn't reduced all the way. Definitely perfect for pasta and eating as is or, once reduced, using for lasagne, crespelle or ravioli. Wonderful on its own as a sauce for the famous Italian "scarpetta" which means using your bread to scoop it into your mouth, no pasta required. After 4 hours on low it did reduce enough to make it a thick sauce. Thank you LaDonna Reed for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I've made this sauce a few times (with some variations) and I think it is fabulous! I use 1/2 ground chicken and 1/2 beef though to make it a little less fattening. Otherwise, it is perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I have never attempted homemade spaghetti sauce before but I had an over abundance of tomatoes in the garden so I figured I would try it. I found LaDonna'a recipe and I decided to try it, I juiced the tomatoes and bought the sauce and paste. I wanted to can the sauce so I did not put the ground beef in it. This sauce is awesome. I don't think I will ever be able to buy spaghetti sauce again. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I used this recipe as more of a guide, since I was trying to use up some things I had on hand without running to the store, that said...I still remained quite true to the recipe and yielded delicious results! I didn't have tomato juice or sauce... I simply substituted canned fire roasted tomatoes and loved the chunky tomatoes. I had to add a little extra water since I was losing some of the liquid from the juice and sauce, but it worked just fine! I loved the carrots and mushrooms. I was tempted to slice the mushrooms but really enjoyed their rustic, hearty texture when quartered. I found with my substitutions I needed more salt and pepper than I'd generally add, which says a lot about how much sodium is in canned juice and sauce! I used fresh herbs from my new Spring herb plants! And served over cheese tortellini. Great recipe or guide, however you choose to use it and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This sauce was rather tasty and my family loved it, but I did leave out the carrots and the mushrooms for some of my family doesn't like mushrooms and I don't particularly like carrots in spaghetti sauce. So with taking those two items out, it still definitely tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I really didn't care for this sauce. Not sure why, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie
Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I like it!! It clings to the spaghetti real nicely and taste great....for vegetarians u could make this without the meat and the mushrooms give it a nice substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I'm so glad to see a no-sugar recipe for spaghetti sauce here, like my mom used to make. She took the tomato ingredients, some onion, garlic and carrot and blended them before adding it to the browned meat...less chunks for picky eaters, I suppose, lol! But the carrot in your recipe gives it a special something that sugar just can't match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Very good and cheaper to make than store bought. Thanks for the recipe! I will definetly hang on to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puckerup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States