Lacy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Wow! If you want to impress your friends and family, make these cookies. Here's what I did: I followed the recipe precisely. I used a 1 teaspoon measuring spoon and made sure I just put a teaspoon for each cookie. I actually wound up making 58 cookies from this recipe. Then I melted semi-sweet chocolate chips and spread the chocolate on the flat side of a cookie and put another cookie on top. They turned out very elegant - better than a Pepperidge Farm cookie. Of course, your using two of these cookies to make one big cookie, but it's worth it! I recommend that you use a Silpat baking sheet (I have two). Let the cookies cool well before you take them off the sheet. Cool on wax paper before putting the choclate on them. I am going to use this recipe for special occasions. Your family will think you've attending a french culinary school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
These are great! Followed recipe as written except I didn't cream the sugar and butter...I combined the dry ingredients and then I added the wet ingredients and mixed everything together. And I used regular rolled oats instead of quick-cooking. I patted down the balls a bit with my fingers before baking them to ensure even baking. I baked them on ungreased silicon mats and they popped right off when I peeled the mat off the pan. They are very sweet - sort of like a very crunchy sugar cookie. Very tasty when sandwiched with whipped cream between two cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These cookies look and taste fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly and my only suggestion is to watch them very closely as they bake. I burned the first batch (typical for me), then I overcompensated and undercooked the second batch (again pretty typical) but for the third batch, i kept my face pressed against the oven window and alas, the perfect cookie! Okay, so maybe you don't need to press your face into hot glass but these cookies do seem to go from undercooked to overcooked in about 30 seconds and it may be just because my brain wa too warm but it seemed like each batch took a different amount of time. Just watch close is all i'm saying. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Everyone who tried these cookies loved them. They were a hit. In my first batch, I followed the recipe exactly and then sprayed a non-stick baking tray with pam, but I had a really hard time getting the cookies off after they cooled. What I ended up doing was adding 1/4 cup more flour. I sprayed the baking sheet with pam, and instead of taking the cookies off when cool, I let them cool only a minute or two, and then took them off while they were still hot. They cooled instantly when off the pan, and came off in one piece. They looked perfect, and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Hold the phone!!! I tried this recipe 3 ways. The only way to get a decent cookie is to double the flour and cook on a non stick baking sheet (ungreased). Let them cool a few minutes and they will pop right off the sheet. Forget the foil-I had to throw that batch away!! They come out very nice when you double the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
These cookies are excellent! I followed the recipe exactly...the only thing I did different was cooked them on parchment paper. The first batch I did on foil & they turned out okay. The second batch I did right on the greased pan...couldn't even get the cookies off the pan. The third batch I did on parchment paper...& they turned out the best. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
These cookies are a family favorite. I generally use a half cup more of the oats called for and they turn out perfect every time. I use parchment paper to bake them on and they slide right off when cooled, much easier than using the foil. Delicate cookie but very much worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mercersburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
This recipe has been in my family for 20+ years. It is time consuming to make but worth it! ps. It is suppose to be flat and runny. Only put 1 tsp. of batter on cookie pan. It will spread out. When baked, you peel the cookies off of tin foil(that is what I use) when they are cooled. Or you can peel them off when slightly warm and curl up and dip one end in chocolate. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
We love these cookies. Followed the recipe except baked them on an ungreased sil-mat and they were perfect. I found that if you press them down slightly with your fingers before baking, they bake more evenly. Left half of them plain and played around with dipping the rest in chocolate and folding some of them around a wooden spoon handle. They were pretty and tasted so good. These were fun to make and we will enjoy them again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These cookies are excellent! I used the Reynolds non-stick foil as recommended by another person and that really does work quite well. These cookies didn't slide off the foil like other cookies do, but with just a little effort they came off in one piece. I didn't get quite as many cookies from one batch, about 35 cookies that are about 3 inches across. These really do spread quite a bit so I only placed 6 teaspoons of dough on a cookie sheet. Not only is this a really tasty cookie, they are very delicate and elegant looking. Next batch I'm going to try to form them into bowls by placing the still warm cookie over an upside down glass custard cup, that I will spray with pam ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States