Lacy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Great texture but too sweet. Way. Too. Sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carcography

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Very delicate, impressive and pretty looking! Tasty and sweet too - perfect with a cup a tea. Followed the recipe perfectly (yes, with the 1/4c of flour). I used a silicone baking sheet, wait until the cookies are cool, and the cookies came off no problem! The silicone baking sheets is easy to bend and pop the cookies off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Perfectly chewy, crisp, with an almost toffee flavor. I loved these cookies! I followed the recipe, but cut it in half. After Hubby and I polished off nearly all 28 cookies, I wished I made the whole thing. I used parchment paper, and had no issues with removing the cookies from the sheet. Also shortened baking time to about 7 minutes. Thank you Pookie! Will be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
These lace cookies are so much simpler than the ones made with nuts, lower in fat and a huge hit. They are especially elegant when made into sandwich cookies filled with melted chocolate and the "laciness" of the texture is highlighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
These are pretty cool. I wanted to try something that would be impressive and these almost fit the bill. They are time-consuming, but not hard. First of all, for those of you who said they were too salty -yes, using unsalted butter will fix that...in fact, you should always bake with unsalted butter, preferably sweet cream. Second, I baked these on my Silpat and they were so easy to take off. If you don't have a Silpat and bake more than a few times a year (or even then) you NEED one. They aren't expensive, check Amazon, but they will save you from cookie mishaps and you don't have to grease anything! Also, for these to cook evenly, patting them down before they go into the oven is a good idea...just wet your hands and use your finger tips to flatten the dough. And lastly, if you're adding more flour, these aren't supposed to fluff up and be like you think of -say- chocolate chip cookies...they're supposed to be flat and crunchy and see-through. And I do highly recommend using two cookies to sandwich melted chocolate or whipped cream....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I must have made a big mistake by adding a splash a milk. I have learned to folllow the recipe. woow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These were such a hit! They are a bit time-consuming, but so worth it. I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour per other reviews, and put (9) 1 tsp. balls on a baking sheet at a time. I also melted chocolate and sandwiched the cookies. I get so many compliments on these every time I make them-- on both the taste, and how beautiful they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Ella
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
pretty good. i used 1/2 cup of sugar (half of the half was brown sugar, the other white). i added in about a 1/4 cup of coconut flakes....cause i love em. ha ! was very good. though...i found the first batch i made impossible to peel off the parchment paper because they were too big. the following were smaller and very easy to peel off... so... be sure they're small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
TOO MUCH SALT. Made these twice now....very good. But way too salty. I cut the salt in half and it was perfect. Maybe if you use salt free butter it would be okay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
These were very good and fun to make. I added an extra half cup flour to help them keep their shape a little more while baking. I melted chocolate and spread it between two cookies- very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States