Lactose Free Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Tried this recipe as is,did not like it.I found the potatoes mushy,and there really wasn't much taste.IMO it does not need 2 hours to cook.So i tried it again with a little tweeking.I boiled the potatoes in chicken broth on medium heat till not quite cooked about 10 min.Then i added 1/2cup peas, 1cup chopped celery,1 cup chopped carrots,1cup green onion,2cups corn and a bit of garlic.I added 1 cup of Silk Milk,fresh parsley,little salt and pepper,and simmered till cooked,all was done from chopping the veggies.till cooked in a little over 1 hour.By adding the Silk it gave the soup a bit more body,so i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I have been vegan since July of 2012 and I look for great recipies that fit my vegan diet. This one was great! I changed out water in the potatoes for vegetable broth and non dairy creamer of plain almond milk with nothing added to the milk. Good comments from my non vegan family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I loved this. It is very healthy, for the vegans out there, this is a great recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Try swapping the NDC for soy or rice milk. 5 stars if you do....You can up the creamy effect by boiling down 2-3 cups to 1 cup of soy milk. Then add it to the recipe. You can also add instant mashed potato flakes to make it creamy OR try using soy cream cheese and thin to your likeness with unsweetened soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Not too many healthy recipies floating around here so thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Sir, thank you for finding this. I get terribly sick from dairy. I can't wait to try this! Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Great recipe. Healthy and wonderful...thanks for helping my family stay healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Awesome! Tastes great and lactose free - just what I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States