Lactation Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made this as written the 1st time & it was great. This time, I used coconut oil instead of butter & 1 1/2cup of brown sugar & omitted the white sugar. I doubled the amount of flax (omitted water), brewers yeast & wheat germ & added walnuts. These were awesome & I love that I can make the recipe however I like best. Delicious cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
These cookies are great. I made them last night and woke up this morning with huge engorged breasts. Thank you! I followed the recipe exact. The flax should be geletin like after soaking in the water. The taste was good, I got my brewers yeast at a vitamin store. After trying my first batch I added1T cinnamon to the dough and each batch I added something a lil different . I used: chopped apples, fresh blueberrys, walnuts and crasins. I froze half the plain dough so I could make more later. I had my cookies at about 9pm with a cup of mother tea and went to bed with flat boobies by 7am when I woke up they were round and over full. My 6 month willow was delighted and made such happy sounds while nursing. So happy the first thing I tried worked for me! Also milled flax seed is what I used , I think its the same as flax seed meal just labled differently. And the brewers yeast doesn't say debittered but since I bought it at a vitamin shop, and its made for adding to food, I suspect it is debittered reading some of the other reviews. If your having milk troubles TRY this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Very good cookies. I omitted the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
5 stars as is. But I've done a few changes for other batches. 2nd batch I added 1/2 c walnuts for a bit of a crunch. 3rd batch I added 1c peanut butter and 1/2 cup walnuts. All batches were delicious. Not sure if it increased my milk but baby is still growing big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I made these simply as a supplement to boost my milk sipply. I'm trying to lose the baby weight so I took out most of the fat and sugar. Instead of butter I used 1/2 cup coconut oil and 1/2 cup butter substitute. Instead of all that sugar I used 1 cup of honey. I also added 1/2 cup applesauce and almost a tbls cinnimon. I sprinkled the tops with pecan pieces, they are actually yummy! You may need milk with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Great for boosting supply! Try to get brewers' yeast that says "mild flavor" or something similar; that will cut down on the possible tangy/bitter taste - which I didn't notice at all. I skipped the chocolate chips and used shredded coconut instead. I also subbed 1/4 C coconut oil for 1/4 C of the butter. They came out tasting like macaroons. YUM. The coconut substitution was mostly to keep my husband out of them. Worked great. You could also use pretty much anything you'd like - nuts, raisins, dried fruit - it would all work fabulously. If your dough comes out a little sticky, toss some more flour or oats in there. These cookies also freeze really well, so might as well make a double or triple batch and be set for a while. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Excellent...I was hesitant because the batter smelled bad. I did add shredded sweetened coconut to the batter. good! I just ate 2 cookies...lets see if they work! Update: I've had lots of these cookies overnight. My milk supply has increased slightly, however my milk supply has been increasing daily so I'm not convinced it's solely because of these cookies. I have a hospital grade pump. On Tuesday, I was averaging 20 ML's every 3 hours, on Wednesday I was averaging 30 ML's every 3 hours, Today, I got 60 ML in one sitting (but it was because I had waited 5 hours in between pumping) and the rest averaged to about 35 ML's. I'll keep eating the cookies and seeing if they help... For now, I think they are a huge waste of calories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I tried this after several other lactation cookie recipes. The cookies don't taste as good, but I produce more milk, which is what I really care about. Most recipes I tried had only a couple of tablespoons of brewer's yeast, this one has 1/4 cup. Also, I live at 6500 ft elevation and these cookies turned out fine without making any changes to the recipe. This is now my favorite lactation cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Ok so I cheated and took a short cut which I allowed myself since I delivered a week ago but wanted something to amp up my milk supply. I bought 2 packs of Pillsbury Simply Oatmeal Brown sugar cookies and added above amounts of flaxseed, wheat germ, and Solgar brewer's yeast. I let cookie dough soften and just mixed other ingredients in with a fork. Turned out delicious! Ate 3 cookies and followed with a half liter of water and I was engorged a few hours later. This recipe is a keeper! I thought I would post my shortcut for anyone who is in my same position though it does not wholly speak to the from scratch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
They did not spread out and flatten at all. They taste fine. My are a but crumbly but soft balls. The kids laugh at the cookies as they stayed perfectly round on the pan after they were finished baked. Not sure if it helps my milk either I ate three and it been a few hours and I don't sent I have any increase but maybe tomorrow I will notice. The cookies still taste very good though. So they will get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States