Labneh (Lebanese Cream Cheese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Wonderful recipe! First time making it or eating it. I let mine drain in the fridge for about 30 hours to get it to a nice, cream cheese consistency and then I grated a bit of garlic into it, added chives and some salt (didn't salt it before) and it is fantastic. Used cheese cloth because I had it on hand. I can see this being very versatile and I can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Novice Cheese Maker - Follower for Life :) I used the recipe to make our fav 7 Layer Mexican Dip after buying a bulk of yogurt on sale. I combined it with caramelized onions before adding to dip - BINGO! No leftovers and everyone kept asking me what I had done differently. I said coyly "Nuthin" buhahahahaha-my secret! There were no leftovers for me to worry about, so I am wondering how long can this be refrigerated for on it's own? Thanks for sharing, you have a winner with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennJenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Good recipe or labneh. Tastes great as suggested with tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, olive oil, salt and pepper and a sprinkling of mint or sumac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Labneh is simple, versatile and great! i buy unbleached muslin cloth from the local fabric store. much more cost effective (and traditional). i form a bag around the mixture and secure with twine and hang over a bowl in the fridge for at least 24 hours... i usually go longer to get a firmer result then roll into balls and let them sit on paper towels to draw out a little more moisture. and store some in jars with evoo...but just plain is great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Fantastic. I use and sell Isagenix. Always looking for healthy alternatives. Thievish fantastic. I put it on tortillas with a depot of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
An amazing alternate to ricotta and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
loved it! except i wasnt a huge fan of the olive oil at the end. would've rather just stuck with a dash of lemon pepper and salt as a finishing touch. also, i drained the yogurt about 1.5-2 days to ensure full creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I have made this my whole life - it's a good recipe. I have rarely added the olive oil into the cheese, but it's a nice idea. For the reviewer who found this was not a cream cheese consistency, it can be thicker if you allow it to drain longer. I also use clean nylon stockings to let it drain - I use 2 layers of knee high stockings and pour the yogurt in and let it hang over my kitchen faucet over night. It's usually a nice thick consistency in the morning. I now plan to drizzle the olive oil over it and the chopped vegetables and use it as an appetizer - thanks for a new and improved recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
It's a lot easier to use one a reusable coffee machine filters. Or even a reusable single cup coffee filter that sits on a cup. I have one that's a very fine white plastic screen, $4 at my local supermarket, and the coffee cup one has some sort of very fine gold screen at the bottom (bought ages ago; I don't remember how much I paid for it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This can also be made flavored with herbs. I usually add a little garlic and fresh mint to the recipe, like they do at my favorite middle eastern restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States